Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:39 a.m. - 2011-01-04
Moving forth on January fourth

Well THAT's done with - the first day of work in the new year - it was a bit tedious, but we all made it through. I worked late last night since spouse and Andy were at their dinner/meeting. Andy had a great time. Spouse felt a bit left out because there were lots of people who already knew each other.

Everyone has checked in - my brother and his wife are crashing; and my sister is studying for her flight exams later this week and early next week. I got her a knee board for her birthday.

And I'm wearing yet another different pair of earrings. Yesterday's were three beads (glass, sculpey and crystal on a silver wire in black and white); today's are blue, white and green polkadot sputnik beads on a silver wire.

I came home to a de-Christmased house thanks to spouse. In my brain, I wanted to get more organized last night, but my body just wanted to fall asleep on the couch until the men-folk came home.

My neighborfriend and her sisters are transfering their father from he local hospital to one in town. He has not been getting great care - mostly because none of his physicians speak with one another. I suggested a hospitalist, but they don't seem to have one. I'm seeing a bleak picture of health care for the elderly. They aren't asking for any extraordinary measures, just confirmation of the diagnoses and palliative care.

My co-worker's mother is also in the hospital. First she broke her hip before Christmas, then she got pneumonia, and then she tried to get up and hit her head yesterday. Her surgery was two weeks ago and no one has taken out her staples.

And my father's friend is also in the hospital. I'm not sure what he's in for, but there is something going on with his foot, and they have been treating the wrong foot.

Really?

Here might be TMI, so skip this paragraph if you like. I'm menstruating again. I was just thinking on New Year's day that it has been more than 3 months since my last period. The tamoxifen must be doing its thing, and then bam - yesterday I woke up and there it was. I'd been feeling crampy all day Sunday, but thought it was just being tired.

Today at work: Meetings, projects, unpacking three of the boxes that were packed from my old furniture.

Tonight? Flipping between "Biggest Loser" and the new dance show.

So exciting to be me.

And for now, that's what I got.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!