Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

11:03 a.m. - 2010-12-30
Winding down 2010

I started thinking about the holidays like the bead bracelet I got last year - there are all these little, funny jewels we had this Christmas: My nephew, niece and Andy all dressed up as commandos making their "Cops" video and running around the back yard giggling like they were 6 instead of 13 and 15; My son's delight at giving the gifts he'd picked out for everyone and his joy that his gift to my brother was my brother's favorite; My brother coming to church with us Christmas eve and singing with all of us, especially the last part of the Lord's Prayer, and then carrying that bit of it back home, making a singing joke every now and then; Seeing the relief in my parents' faces that we are well right now.

And lots of other little snippets.

When I got home from work last night, my brother called me - he NEVER calls, so I knew something was up. Apparently my SIL and my mother got in a snit with each other. My SIL was trying to pay bills on line, and my mother wanted to play solitair so she kicked my SIL off the computer. And my brother defended his wife, and my mother started crying. My brother was really panicked to have called me. I'm glad I didn't have to be there for that, but I could feel my stomach tensing uop again. Such foolishness! I'm worried that my mother is making her world small again, and fixating on solitair and sodoku. And my father's hearing aids aren't working and his hearing is getting worse, so he hardly participates in conversations at all any more, but my mother says they don't have the money to get them fixed, and I said I would take out a loan to get them repaired or replaced.

AAUGH!

But otherwise, a truly nice, happy Christmas.

And so.

Still digging through work and trying to get organized. I've got my 2011 calendar ready to go, started some prep for Saturday's party and I'm making reservations for dinner tomorrow night. Should be fun.

I'm hopeful that work will let us leave early, but I don't know.

Best line of 2010: "Popped a boob." Thank you Jane. Best recipes of 2010 - many, many - Thank you Kathy!

And for now, that's what I got.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!