Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2:32 p.m. - 2010-12-27
Walking in our winter underpants

We had such a nice Christmas. Lovely celebrating, so nice to be with my brother and sister, niece, nephew, parents, SIL and husband and son. There was only one minor drama when my sister's ex brought the kids back over an hour late for Christmas dinner. We were all together for Christmas day, and my sister was gracious and let the ex take them to his mother's with the promise that they'd be back by 4:30 since that was when we were eating. It was nearly 5:45 when he brought them back. What a dick.

Otherwise, it has been a lovely holiday. Everyone liked their presents, there are no returns to be done, the kids are all getting along and playing cops and robbers and making videos of their escapades. My mother liked her new shoes and gift card. My Dad liked his new stereo receiver (We all chipped in.) And everyone loved the photo-calendar I made from pics of our summer vacation together.

We had our feast of seven fishes on Christmas eve after we got back from Mass, then each kid opened a present and the grown-up women got new night shirts.

Christmas morning we opened our gifts (I got a new camera - Nikon Coolpix S8100 - and some perfume, chocolates, gift cards, a new under counter spice rack, hand-made socks from my Mother, and a new bead for my bracelet and a phone cover from Andy.

We're waiting to see what happens with our travel plans as our airport is still closed. We'll see what happens in a few hours.

My brother, SIL, spouse and I went hunting for a pilot's jacket for my sister who takes her FAA test in two weeks, but so far haven't found much. I did get my fix of post Christmas sales and got a couple of half-priced bargains as well as a pin for my sister and a headlamp for my father. (I got them for all of the kids and my brother, not realizing that he would want one too!)

We've played cards, made snacks, played "catch phrase," made silly songs and there have been many naps (by other people.)

It has been pretty cold for Flora dora (low 30s at night with a freeze warning the past two days) though I know it does not compare to the blizzard we'd be experiencing if we were back home.

I hope you had a fabulous Christmas with your loved ones!

And for now, that's all I got.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!