Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:05 a.m. - 2010-12-02
The one with the roll recipe

Last night's event with Andy's wind ensemble was fun. It was really pouring rain, so we were all in that "shelter from the storm" mentality when we arrived. Food was meh, but we sat with two nice couples - older like us, and both with only children - like us. It was great to meet them. Of course they are all proud of their children (and should be.) One of them told me a joke she made up driving to work the other day:

What do pirates put on their Christmas trees?

Arrrrrrrrrnaments.

Come on. You did laugh, didn't you? We thought it was quite funny, and there wasn't even any wine!

We got home around 9 ish. Spouse had to finish some classwork, but I crashed into bed around 10, and I think he came up around 11:30.

We're so exciting.

Tonight is our town's holiday stroll which starts with the college lighting its Christmas tree. Andy is going to meet me here. Spouse has an afternoon appointment, so he'll meet us at home.

And why are they only playing four Christmas songs on the radio? I keep hearing Jingle Bells, The Most Wonderful Time of the Year, Little Drummer Boy and All I want for Christmas. Variety! Puleeze!

And for now, that's what I got.

Oh - I almost forgot: Here is the roll recipe.

Buttery Rolls for the bread machine
yields 16 or 24 rolls. (I got 20.)

Ingredients:

1 C milk (110 F.)
1/2 cup butter room temperature
2 eggs room temp and lightly beaten
3/4 tsp salt
4 cups bread flour
3 tsp yeast
1/4 cup sugar

Directions:

Place the ingredients in bread pan of your bread machine (in the order that your machine requires.)

Select dough setting and press start

When dough cycle has finished, remove dough from pan and turn out onto a lightly oiled surface

Form dough into an oval, cover with plastic wrap and let rest for 10 minutes.

After resting, divide the dough into 16, 20 or 24 pieces and shape as desired.

Preheat oven to 375 degrees

Cover rolls and place in warm spot to rise, approx 20-30 minutes.

Bake approximately 20 minutes or until nicely browned.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!