Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

3:30 p.m. - 2010-11-29
Brief interruption of services

Really? I haven't posted in a week? Yikes! I was sick on Monday and didn't go into work on Tuesday because I still had a bit of a fever. I don't know what it was, but I was just kind of nauseous for a few days and very tired. Tuesday afternoon I finally got a bit of energy back, did some work via email and the phone, then we took my aunt and uncle (wanmuau)and drove down to Providence to get Andy to his concert dress rehearsal. We got him there in plenty of t ime, waited for the concert which went well and then headed to dinner at a local Italian chain that we like. My aunt and uncle ate with us, then headed back to their hotel while we went to pick my brother and SIL at the airport. They got in around 11:15, and we were home by about half past midnight. We stayed up talking for a while, then crashed around 1:30.

I had to go to work briefly in the morning, and spouse took Andy to the orthodontist. I put some oatmeal in the oven before I went to bed the night before, so by the time I got home, people were starting to wake up, so we had oatmeal, bagels, fruit and coffee.

My brother and SIL wanted to hit some stores to get decorations for my SIL's parents' anniversary party, so we did that, then had a late lunch, went to a farm stand, got some great pictures amongst the freshly cut Christmas trees, and dropped my bro and SIL at her brother's house down the road where they will be spending Thanksgiving. We came home and I started some of the cooking (roasted brussels sprouts with chestnuts and pancetta, baked delicata squash with maple and butter and home-made rolls.

Oh. My. My co-worker gave me a recipe for home-made rolls and they are SO ADDICTIVE! They were very easy and delicious. If you have a bread machien and want the recipe, leave me a note.

The next morning I got up to check out the Black Friday circulars and plot my course. I finished up another batch of the rolls and we watched the Macy's parade. We headed out to my brother's around noon and didn't hit too much traffic, so that was good.

We had a nice dinner with my brother, SIL, niece, nephew, her brother, his wife and two kids, and my SIL's mother. Her father was still in the hospital and they wouldn't release him because of the stairs. My brother made butternut squash soup, the turkey with two kinds of dressing and mashed potatoes. My SIL's SIL made a gluten free dressing and tiny pumpkin pie because she's decided to go gluten free. But then she put gravy all over everything and ate some of the rolls, so go figure.

We hung out for a while digesting, had some pies, and then we headed home around 5 ish. I was pretty tired, and we were getting ready for the Black Friday trek.

We got up at 3 a.m., got in line by 3:30 for Wally World, got in the store at 4 and waited in the designated area until 5 where we got our voucher for the laptop spouse is getting for Christmas/birthday/anniversary/Valentine's Day, etc.

After that we got in line for the 6 a.m. Staples opening, then the 7 a.m. Michaels opening, and hit Lowe's to get an air pump for Andy's bike. We dropped off our packages and headed for breakfast. We were home by 9:30. Spouse took a big long nap, Andy and I puttered, and then my friend called and invited us to lunch. Spouse was still asleep, so it was just Andy and me. I was pretty tired Friday night, so we just hung out. Saturday we got to sleep in until 8! Andy slept until 11. We went to a craft fair that has always been good in the next town, had Mexican food for lunch and did more cleaning and errands. (I know, so exciting.)

Sunday we did church, then got ready for the SIL's parents' 50th anniversary. We stopped and picked up their gift, picked up my brother and SIL and went to the party which was at a country club. We hung out for a few hours, then drove them to the airport so they could fly home. Then we stopped by at spouse's parents to check on them, and home again, home again, jiggity jig.

I'm mostly done with Christmas shoopping - just my father and my brother and a few little things. Oh yah, and Andy's big present.

That's the recap - hardly worth the week-long wait I suppose, but I had a good time and there were lots of nice family and friend moments.

And for that, and for you, I am thankful.

And that's what I got.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!