Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:26 a.m. - 2010-11-02
Broken things

I forgot to write that our car broke down on the way home from the in-laws on Saturday afternoon. It was almost like the car was knocked out of gear even though it is an automatic. So of course we suspected the transmission.

AAA was assinine about the whole thing, first saying they couldn't pick us up because we were on a highway. Duh. Then saying they couldn't pick us up because we were on the median. (We weren't.) Then saying that they couldn't take Andy in the tow truck because he is under 18.

At least the car didn't break down as spouse and Andy were on the way home in the wee hours on Saturday morning. At least the car didn't break down when we had the in-laws in the car with us. Nevertheless it did break down, and after an hour of wrangling, a tow truck came and graciously stuffed all three of us in the front seat of the truck and towed our 2003 car with 156,000 miles on it to our mechanic where we left it with a plaintive note to be fixed.

Our neighbors picked us up from the garage and got us home.

So yesterday, the mechanic confirmed my worst fears and said it was the transmission and that he didn't do those but recommended someone else, so it will be towed there and will likely cost us $2,000. We went back and forth about putting that much money into an older car, but we need this one to last another year until my car is paid off. So.

I don't know how we'll pay for it yet.

Andy and spouse are home today. The schools are closed for the elections.

I made a really good potroast yesterday in the crock pot. Today it is becoming beef, mushroom and barley soup for my neighbor's father who is recovering after his first chemo.

We're having stuffed flouder. Yum.

I also found out that Andy's most recent girlfriend broke up with him.

What's up with that? Apparently it happened sometime last week.

And for now, that's what I got.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!