Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:05 a.m. - 2010-10-18
An enlightened cut-up

I realized this weekend, that I have my little symbols of independence and security. When I was growing up, my mother had two pairs of scissors. We weren't allowed to use them without permission (when we were younger) and I can still see the handles of both pairs - one red, one blue - with their flaking paint. They always managed to disappear whenever anyone needed them, and so now, I have at least four pair of scissors in my top kitchen drawer. I also found flashlights to be a valuable and mysterious commodity when I was growing up, so I can never have too many flashlights. I'm just saying.

My fanny is dragging even after the weekend. I ended up going to scrapbook for a few hours Friday night after we had Mexican food at our of our favorite restaurants. I'm on a streak - I haven't had to cook for many days! Got home around 10 and fell asleep. Saturday - the usual - sax lessons at 9; errands, then off for D&O at the inlaws. We took them to lunch, did some chores at their house, then came home. I started the festival of laundry and then Andy and I went to church. Got home, then went to dinner at our friends - they made an Indian feast and we had a really nice time.

Sunday we got to sleep in a bit - I slept until 8:30! I better check for bed sores! Did some more wash, cleaned the kitchen, paid some bills, and went through the papers. Andy slept until 12:30 and got up when our neighbors called to see if we wanted to go for breakfast with them. We had a nice time - the day was gorgeous and the leaves are pretty good. I had several moments of joy. We enjoyed breakfast, and I stopped by my other neighborfriend's house to find out what is happening with her father. They had run tests last week and found cancer in his lung and probably his pancreas. They have to determine which cancer was first because the treatments are quite different. I'm keeping them all in my prayers.

Andy worked on a big pile of homework, I finished laundry and bills, and spouse graded more exams. He took a break and did some grocery shopping and I made pasta with pearlina (little balls of mozzarella) and basil for dinner. Pretty tasty!

I actually stayed up to watch the season finale of Mad Men, which is probably why my tail is dragging today.

This will be a busy week.

And for now, that's what I got.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!