Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

1:15 p.m. - 2010-10-15
No white flags please

Got my parents off safely last night. We took them to one of our favorite local Italian chainish restaurants. I had pizza and salad; my father had spaghetti and meatballs; Andy had veal parm and spouse and I split the pizza. My mother ordered antipasto and had some of out pizza. Very tasty. We lingered and had time to spend before my brother picked them up.

Then we said our goodbyes and headed home. I fell asleep around 9:30. Don't know why we're all so tired this week.

This morning, my mother called me at work to ask for my SIL's cell phone number and her mother's number. Apparently, my father left his wallet (we hoped) in the car when she dropped them off earlier. Fortunately, my father still had his license, so he was able to get on the plane, but now, they have no money. I'm sure they'll survive. I was worried and started collecting the numbers of the credit card companies they would have to call, but my mother called back later to say my SIL found it and would mail it to them this weekend. Whew!

I'm supposed to scrapbook tonight, but I may cancel. The thought of my quilt and some junky tee vee sounds very appealing.

I have no major insights after this visit with my parents. They were less active - my mother didn't want to go out much. She played alot of solitair on her computer, and with her deck of cards. She did do some knitting however. She did not follow any kind of diabetic diet that I could tell.

My father is my father. We set him up in the living room with his own easy chair and television so he was happy.

I know they are getting older and have had to deal with alot, but I wish they would fight it a little more.

And for now, that's what I got.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!