Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

12:03 p.m. - 2010-10-05
I can smell that they've put the heat on

Still on a roll. Last night I cleared off the table we have in the family room. It is usually covered in books, papers, magazines and catalogues that I save. I do order from catalogues. Just not all the time. But the holidays are almost here, and I get a good portion of gifts from catalogs.

Last night my brother called. Dont' know if I wrote what was going on with them, but his FIL has been doing poorly for a few years now and got some kind of infection and has been hospitalized and is now in rehab. So that changes plans for my parents getting to spend time with them because my SIL says that her sisters are coming, but she doesn't know when so she's not sure when it would be convenient for them to come. So that's why my brother called. He has to fly out of town next week for work (he goes every other week) and so he wants to have my folks come this weekend which means that I took off Friday for nothing, and then next week we all are in school/work etc.

I just can't wrap my brain around it. I called my parents and told them the situation and asked them to decide what they wanted to do. It still isn't resolved. I know my mother wants to see my niece and nephew, but my father would be happy just staying at our house the whole time.

I understand the FIL is ailing (he's had Parkinsons for about a dozen years and he is in his 80s.) But I just don't get why we have to wait until the last minute and adjust our plans to fit theirs.

I'm thinking I may still just take Friday off, and then we'll go and pick up my parents from my brother's on Saturday (they get in late tomorrow night.) I'm not sure who is going to get them to my brother's on Thursday.

Andy had an emergency orthodontist appointment this morning - one of his brackets broke this weekend, so we went in this a.m. and had it fixed.

Made a tasty dinner - buttery chicken with brown rice (peanut butter) and then I made some romanesco (I think) - it is a cross between cauliflower and broccoli.

Today the floors get washed and the bathrooms get cleaned. Guestroom beds are all set.

Work is work. It amazes me what folks have to do to make themselves feel powerful.

My other brother and SIL called from flora dora last night to ask about the Mad Men episode from Sunday. I've not yet seen it, so I couldn't discuss.

My life is so exciting!

Tonight's dinner: Pecan crusted pork chops with green beans and smashed potatoes.

And for now, that's what I got.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!