Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

3:01 p.m. - 2010-09-27
More thither than hither

It was an interesting weekend. Friday was amazingly crazy at work. One of our students (a freshman football player) was being surprised by his mother who was returning early from a tour of duty in Afghanistan. She wanted to surprise him at our first home football game by singing the Star Spangled Banner. First we had trouble making all the connections, especially while she was in transit.

Finally, we heard from her Friday night to confirm everything, and I worked to get the regional television stations and newspapers to cover it, so we had lots of media!

Then two national outlets wanted to do an interview for this week, but again, we couldn't get in touch with the family (they were traveling home down south) so it made it kind of crazy. We also got two front page stories in the regional papers. It was the most perfect story and so sweet and emotional. The mom who is a master sergeant with the Air Force reserve wore her dress blues. Her giant son was reduced to tears and just buried his head on her shoulder.

Then I had to stick around and take pictures of alumni and the rest of the stuff for family day. Sunday was our town's harvest festival and I had to work for three hours in the college's booth.

I am a tired, tired puppy.

Spouse was away in NY this weekend, so Andy and I got take out Chinese Saturday night and watched junky tee vee. Friday night he went to the football game with his peeps. I wish his peeps believed in car pools.

Yesterday spouse came home around 2, and I got home around 4:30. We both fell asleep on the couch for an hour.

Today is crazy, crazy, crazy at work, and tomorrow I'm shooting video with a production crew all day.

And for now, that's what I got.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!