Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

12:38 p.m. - 2010-09-20
Whizzing right along

How I love the weekends! Friday night, our neighbors invited us to join them for diner at our favorite breakfast restaurant. Andy showed off his wrist brace and the heighbor's daughter showed off her crutches (she's a dancer/gymnast.) The husband neighbor had a heartburn attack, so we were a sorry bunch, but had a good time.

Came home and I crashed. Andy stayed up to watch spongebob reruns. I set the alarm for 8, but the alarm never went off, so I woke up around 8:15 and had to rush to get Andy to sax lessons. Spouse stayed home and gathered up the meals, magazines, gifts we had for our visit with the in-laws. After Andy's lesson, I picked up spouse and we headed to his folk's house. Our niece was there in shy mode (she's 3 and a half.) But eventually she warmed up and she didn't want us to go when it was time.

MIL was especially stressed. We had lunch (hot dogs, deli salads) and it was a short visit. Spouse is going to NYC in a few weeks and will stay overnight and see his brother and SIL's house in NJ.

After the visit, we came home and I began celebrating the festival of laundry and paid a big pile of bills and weeded through paper. No matter what system I have (I go through the mail over the recycling bin, I immediately shred financial documents of credit card come-ons that I'm not interested in, I file the bills, and I've taken myself off of mailing lists) I still manage to fill two shopping bags with mail paper every week.

Anyway, Andy and I decided we would go to church early on Sunday morning, so he went to hang out with friends, and I continued housework. I wasn't hungry for dinner, but spouse and Andy got subs and spouse finished some of the Indian lentils we had made earlier in the week.

Sunday was up and out for 7:30 Mass, then donuts and newspapers. I did more laundry and errands, then we headed out for lunch at a sushi buffet, I returned some pants I wanted to like so much but couldn't; and we hit Trader Joe's. I felt accomplished. The cars are gassed for the week, bills are paid, cards are mailed, laundry is done, and yet my house still looks like a tornado has gone through it.

Oh - almost forgot - I had recorded the last episode of As The World Turns. I remember watching it as a kid with my mother. We watched Love of Life (where Bess Armstrong and Christopher Reed got their starts;) Guiding Light (can't remember who got their starts there); and As the World Turns. I watched them off and on until they were cancelled. Love of Life was the first to go - at least 25 years ago; and Guiding Light went last year.

Most times, you could stop watching for a year or two, and still pick up the story line when you came back in.

There was something comforting about them. I remember sitting on the floor with the tv on watching my mother iron as the programs were on - with organ music usually, until the 80s when they became a bit hipper.

So there are no soaps that I care about any more.

Last night I watched one of the hoarding shows, and it amazes me how pissed off I get at the hoarders. There is not an empathetic bone in my body. I wish I could be a better person about it, but they just make me angry. I understand that it is a mental disease, but it puts many other people's emotional, physical and financial lives at risk and they just don't see it or don't make an attempt to change it or seek treatment.

Harumph.

Launched the new website today at work. So far, so good, lots of compliments, few glitches. Whew!

Busy week ahead - I am out almost every night except tonight:

Cut and color Tuesday after work (It's been almost six months!)

Boy Scouts Court of Honor Wednesday

Dream Dinners Thursday

Work Friday night for homecoming

Work Saturday all day for homecoming

Work Sunday afternoon for Harvest Festival.

zzzzzzzzzzzzz

I'm feeling like I'm finding my feet again, but I don't want to say that too loudly.

And for now, that's what I got. Missing you Dawn Elaine; and mailing packages this weekend Mary!

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!