Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

1:00 p.m. - 2010-07-21
Cucumber water

While we were in Florida on Friday night, Andy got a text message from one of his karate teachers that the owner of the school's wife had died suddenly. The owner had just gotten married last September and his wife was only 38. Spouse, Andy and I were shocked and upset. I finally got more information Sunday night and spouse and I went to the funeral - so sad. Just another reminder of how short life is, and that we are not guaranteed to have long days together. The rest of Monday, I dug out from voice and emails that accumulated while I was on vacation and prepped for several meetings I had on Tuesday.

Spouse made dinner on Monday (chicken with blue cheese and mashed potatoes.) I finished the last of the vacation laundry and was ready for bed around 9!

Yesterday was busy at work, I had my meetings with everyone and their uncle; and then at 6 I met up with 6 women with whom I used to work 25 years ago. It was great to see them, and it was like sitting down with them at lunch in the hospital cafeteria and no time had passed. Just a nice evening.

Today was another busy day of work, meetings, a small crisis and a doctor's appointment. Spouse came and had lunch with me and brought me a big glass of the cucumber water. SO DELICIOUS! I think the next batch I'll either put in basil or mint leaves. Tonight we are having dinner at our favorite breakfast restaurant with our neighbor. Her husband is out of town, and she asked if we'd go with her, so that will be fun to catch up. Then I go off to make a pile of dream dinners.

I'm looking forward to the weekend - not too many obligations!

And for now, that's what I got.

Go brew some cucumber water!

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!