Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:58 a.m. - 2010-04-05
Easter and Andy's Birthday

It was such a nice weekend and Easter! Saturday I took Andy to his lesson while spouse went to pick up Andy's bicycle. Came home and took Andy to his date. Spouse and I came home and did some housework and then my neighbor called so I went over to stuff the plastic Easter eggs. This year we had about 340 eggs. Andy was due home around 5:30, so we invited the neighbors over for pizza and salad and had a nice evening. We all had stuff to do Saturday night (stuffing baskets, wrapping birthday presents and baking Andy's birthday cake...) so I watched "The Ten Commandments" while I did my stuff.

Sunday morning, Andy and I went to 7:30 Mass, then came home and opened our baskets. Andy got ALOT of chocolate and peanut-butter treats. I got spouse some special nuts, some really cool boxers and socks, some chocolate dipped biscotti and some other candies. He got me a box of my favorite chocolates from the chocolatier in the next town and four beads for my bracelet.

I started the bacon cooking, trimmed the asparagas for dinner and made the frosting for Andy's cake. By the time I was done with the 5th pound of bacon, the house was pretty smokey. At least it was a beautiful day, so we left the door open to try and air it out.

Had a nice time at the egg hunt, but it is the tiniest bit sad to see how old the kids are. They found the eggs in about 9 seconds and the grown-ups enjoyed brunch. And no, there was not a bit of bacon left!

We headed out to my brothers for Easter dinner and had a nice time. He made his usual (and fabulous) marinated leg of lamb on the grill with roasted potatoes. I brought the asparagas with butter, lemon and parmesan and a pile of crescent rolls. Someone else made green beans and carrots. I think there was ham also. The cousins hung out, we talked about not too much and enjoyed the beautiful afternoon. Andy and my nephew were "too cool" to do the little egg hunt that my SIL had arranged. Oh well.

Got home to a bacony smelling house and I had the brilliant idea to clean the oven, but it was so smokey, I ended up staying up until about 1 until the cycle was finished and the smoke had cleared. I was worried the piggie might suffocate from the smoke.

So this morning I am not well-rested.

But spouse and I got up a little earlier, arranged Andy's presents by his breakfast place, and spouse ran out to get him a chocolate glazed donut. He loved all his presents (he wanted to open them ALL this morning) and tonight I will make him a baked pasta casserole and chocolate cake.

I am half-way through my leave. Wish I had more accomplished.

Talked to all the siblings yesterday. This week is full of appointments and errands and a friend is coming to lunch on Wednesday. Friday night is the boy scout spaghetti supper. Saturday we see the in-laws (I haven't seen them since New Year's day!)

I am glad I have an appointment with a psychopharmacologist next month as I am feeling especially melancholy and anxious. Is it because I haven't gotten much done in the last two weeks? Is it because my baby is growing up and away as he should? Is it because I worry for my parents and my brother? I don't know...It could be all or none of the above, or some peculiar combination.

And Andy is big fat thirteen today. How did that happen?

We've been talking about a contract. He is such a good kid, but I was talking with another woman who has teenagers and she offered a suggestion that worked for her: She and her child made a contract - what was acceptable behavior and what broke the rules. And then they jointly created consequences for breaking the rules (curfew, drinking/drugs/ etc.) So Andy and I have been discussing and we will put pen to paper this week.

And for now, that's all I got.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!