Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:12 a.m. - 2010-03-22
Things may be blooming
Happy, happy Monday dance. I know, I usually do this on Friday, but I didn't get a moment to write on Friday. It was exceedingly busy, and I had a meeting with HR. They gave me a letter - I didn't have to sign anything, and the HR vp said I should rest and take the leave offer in the spirit in which it was offered and not to worry about the terse nature of the letter they gave me. My new boss was there, he seemed ok with everything, and really, what can I do about it except go on leave for four weeks and relax?

Good weekend after a really long day at work wrapping things up.

Spouse, Andy and I headed north and stopped on the road for dinner. Andy ate a third of my dinner, part of spouse's dinner and all of his dinner. Then we drove to the hotel and met our neighborfriends. Andy watched "Planet 51" in their room, and spouse and I clicked through some junky tee vee before we fell asleep. Saturday morning, we all had breakfast and spouse, Andy and my neighborfriend's husband and daughter headed out to the indoor water park. My neighborfriend and I scrapbooked all morning and we were lucky to be seated next to two really wonderful women! It was such a pleasure to get to know them. They are cousins and obviously close, but so different.

We all scrapbooked and talked and ate meals and I went to church. I got a ride from the two new friends and it was such a nice experience. Who knew so many Catholics scrapbook?

Checked in with spouse and Andy who had a good time, but only stayed at the park about an hour-and-a-half. That works out to about a buck a minute! Oh well...maybe Andy is just a little to old for the park, though he enjoyed the slide and spouse did the lazy river. That would be my favorite too.

Sunday morning I puttered a bit, then had breakfast and continued scrapbooking. We worked until 3 or so, then packed up and headed home.

I was thinking that this weekend was like a little transitional island of sorts. I did something I like and now I have four weeks spread out in front of me and I'm worried that I won't use it in the most efficient way.

Do I clean? Do I relax? Do I go and visit my family? Do I make myself over? I KNOW that whatever I do I will have to work to make myself accept the decision I choose and not berate myself for not choosing something else.

So today: I will complete the festival of laundry that was not done while I was away and start work on clearing out part of the bedroom. I am GETTING RID OF STUFF in a big, big way. I hope that will happen on many levels of my life.

Talked to my mother this morning - she and my father are waiting for the movers at my brother's house. Everything that is going is packed and labeled. My brother and SIL left the east coast house for the west coast apartment and my brother's last chemo is scheduled for Friday.

Did I already say that it was gorgeous this weekend? Sunny, warm and spring-like. When I got home last night, spouse had a vase of daffodils waiting for me and my other neighbor had dropped off a big pot of pansies - my two favorite flowers! How lucky am I?

And for now, that's what I've got.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!