Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

12:10 p.m. - 2010-01-25
My son has a girlfriend

It has been a dense few days. My SIL called Friday and said my brother was having a hard time of things. He was tense and tired and snapped at her, and then just burst into tears. It is breaking my heart. But then she called on Saturday and said he was doing better, and he called us all in the afternoon to tell us he had eaten some soup.

I scrapbooked with my neighborfriend for the weekend. Friday night I went around 6 and stayed until about 10. We made some new friends and had a good time. Came home in time to hear a James Taylor fundraiser on the radio, and then the last 10 minutes of the Haiti Relief television proram.

Saturday morning we went to breakfast and I did some laundry, then Saturday afternoon, spouse, Andy and I went to church, and then met the scrapbook friends for dinner at Cr@cker Barrel. I had veggies and they were good. Scrapped some more Saturday night and came home around 10 and hung out with spouse, who told me that Andy told him that he has a girlfriend now.

"Don't make a big deal about it, but you can tell Mom," is what spouse told me Andy said.

So Sunday morning before I headed out again, I asked Andy about her. She is someone he met last summer at music camp. He has not physically seen her then, but they text frequently. In fact, every time I inquired as to who Andy was texting or who was texting him over the last few weeks, it has been this girl. Andy said she had asked him out a few weeks ago, but he said no, and then she broke up with her boyfriend and now he is her boyfriend because "she does not like to be alone."

Oh.

Well, I thought that might be a time to talk about the kinds of things we text and the kinds of images we send, but I still felt a little relentless. Still, he will be 13 in two months.

I asked if he had made plans to get together, and he indicated that he wanted to do something over February vacation, though we will be away, so I offered to drive them to a movie or something.

Came home from cropping around 1 yesterday and did some more wash (I think the washing machine is going to need some attention...) and made roast chicken and mashed potatoes at Andy's request. It was very tasty.

It's going to be a busy week again.

And for now, that's all I got.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!