Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:34 a.m. - 2010-01-12
More

So I finally asked the question of my radiation oncologist as to whether or not she thought I should be tested for thyroid cancer, and she thinks that I should not get all alarmed about it, it would probably be a good idea, and that I should discuss it with my medical oncologist. I've been thinking of it. How do I KNOW that I don't have cancer elsewhere, since the cancer I have was clearly breast cancer, I never had a pet scan. So now, this wil likely mean more tests, and then I'll know. But even with the tests, I feel like that safety veil has been breeched. Now that I've been diagnosed with cancer, It will always be in my mind that it could come back. There is that kind of loss of confidence.

I will be suggesting to my sister and other brother that they bring this up with their physicians as well. Though my doctor was pretty certain that there wasn't a syndrome of some sort (thyroid, breast, lymphoma, etc.) she thought it was a good idea for everyone to discuss it with their own doctors. And so I have, and so I will.

And now on to real life...Thank you all for your comments and emails about our texting issue. I think that I will follow those suggestions to allow Andy to have additional texting time AFTER homework, chores, practicing, etc. is done, but limit that to a certain number of texts.

Last night spouse made supper - salmon, rice, and some balsamic glazed veggies we got from Trader Joes. It was yummy. And then I fell asleep.

The good news: My mother finally left her house yesterday and went to a knitting group, and then to a yarn store. She also has to go out today, so that's good.

My friend Gabriel came by for a quick visit - we worked together briefly - he is one of the Sudanese "lost boys," and I haven't seen him since he was laid off in October. This is such a significant time for him - he is finally finished with his degree and now is looking for full-time work without the support of a family that is close by. I am glad he is reaching out to others.

Work now beckons me and I have to get cracking.

And for now, that's all I got.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!