Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

11:11 a.m. - 2009-11-16
Two steps forward

It was a decent weekend - Friday afternoon I had to go to a government affairs luncheon with a coleague and met some interesting people. Friday night we had our usual pizza, then watched junky tee vee. Saturday morning it was pouring and gusty - spouse took Andy to his sax lessons and I did the dream dinner thing with my next door neighbor, then came home and took spouse out for a nice birthday lunch (though his birthday isn't until tomorrow.) We enjoyed the meal, ran some errands, went to church, then made a run to a local mall with our neighbors - men went to Bass Pro Shoppes; women went to Christmas Tree Shoppes after dinner at Five Guys burgers. Very delish and fun to get out with our friends.

Sunday we had our other friends over for lunch which made me clean off the dining room table and get rid of scads of paper and stuff I've been meaning to go through. The house looks pretty decent today if you don't look in the guest room...

It was beautiful weather wise, so we opened up all the windows and got some nice fresh air in the house. I made a butternut squash soup with onions, ginger and garlic and a bit of curry powder. Also made three kinds of focaccia - mushroom/truffle oil; a goat cheese and carmelized onion and rosemary; and a tomato and cheese for the young people. Also made a big salad and a crockpot apple crisp. It was tasty. The children were not especially behaved and announced their boredom every 7 minutes, despite the fact that Andy had set up the Wii, cued up a movie and we have an enormous swing set outside. There was no rebuke from their parents who can't understand why their children are difficult when they go to other people's homes.

Spouse has been wonderful and really pitching in - he folded and put away all the wash, made the beds, did the groceries - I am so lucky.

My SIL called this morning - finally, they have some tests scheduled for my brother. PT or CT scan tomorrow (I forget which one); so at least things are moving forward. My mother is going to Tampa for a few days with my SIL so she won't be alone. My SIL asked for company. Then we hope to know more Thursday or Friday with results.

Tomorrow I get measured and tatooed and I find out when I start my radiation.

Tonight we are measuring for some new windows on the top floor - poor spouse - the window on his side of the bed is coming out of the sil. Yikes!

Hope your yard sales, festivals and weekends were wonderful!

And for now, that's all I got.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!