Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2:41 p.m. - 2009-10-05
Air conditioner: On or Off? Discuss

It occurred to me today that I haven't had a big cry about all of this. I've come close, but I always feel I have to pull myself together for Andy or spouse, or for my mother who was visiting. It surfaces at inconvenient times. Of course, I couldn't have had it on Friday when I was by myself, but I feel it creep up on me at church sometimes, or in my car just as I am about to pull into work.

Friday I did my D&O for work and saw a number of people, including the folks from our NY ad agency who gave me a three month subscription to Netflix and a bookstore gift card. What a thoughtful gift!

Friday night we had pizza, and spouse and I watched Rear Window, while Andy groused about being bored, but eventually pulled out all of his matchbox cars and played with them in our guest room while watching the tv in there. Saturday we got to sleep in since Andy's sax lesson had been changed. Spouse and Andy slept until after 10, but I was up at 7, read the paper, started some laundry, and made up a box of stuff my mom had left at our house. Spouse took it to the PO, then we went to the sushi buffet about 20 minutes away, ran a couple of errands and got to church. While we were there, one of our friends invited us to an impromptu dinner with THREE PIES! So we hung out with them, had a nice dinner, played with their new puppy (lots of tummy rubbing!) and came home knowing we could sleep in again on Sunday.

Sunday morning, spouse and Andy slept late again and I had the newspapers all to myself. Did laundry, made the g rocery list, then did the shopping with Andy mid-afternoon so spouse could finish his grading. The groceries took two hours. Have I already complained that I hate it when people who are RETIRED choose to shop on the WEEKENDS when the rest of us have to cram in all of our errands? I also got a high school beauty queen cashier who had to check every one of my coupons to make sure I got the right items, and was downright snarky about it. For some reason, grocery stores don't print out the receipt as you go along anymore, so they can't check to see the items automatically, and have to manually look through the bags. It was so annoying. Of course I had all the items and the right amounts, blah, blah, blah.

Came home, prepped al the veggies and then went out for dinner because I was too tired to cook. Had a mediocre meal at a regional Italian chain. My eggplant was undercooked and the pasta was overcooked. Oh well.

I don't know wny the second surgery took so much out of me physically (no pun intended) but I am more tired and apprehensive. I spoke with another woman who had a similar experience, and she said the same thing - that it was almost like getting the diagnosis all over again when she heard she had to go back for more surgery. I hope to hear more by Wednesday.

My BIL and his wife called yesterday as well. They have called more in the last week than they have in the entire 18 years spouse and I have been married.

More of Andy's activities start up again this week - jazz band, CCD and he has an ortho appointment on Wednesday.

Also, I am not especially fond of pink.

And for now, that's all I got.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!