Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:09 a.m. - 2009-07-27
I am insecure without pockets

Another nice weekend. Friday I got my hair cut and "un-greyed." Got home and we had pizza, then Andy went out and played "man-hunt" with the neighborhood posse. Saturday morning I took Andy to his sax lesson, then came home and assembled dinner (Chicken Marbella, summer fruit cobbler, roasted zucchini and garlic and cous cous) and made the apps - guacamole and home-made salsa. It was all very tasty, and we're finishing the leftovers tonight. Such a nice visit with my friend. She is such an inspiration. She had an horrific childhood (which was when I knew her)and was one of nine children (not necessarily the reason her childhood was so awful.) I had no idea until she told me about 10 years ago after we reconnected. In the time since then, she worked full time, put herself through school, left an abusive marriage, got her Ph.D., married someone else who decided he didn't want children several years into the marriage, left him to re-start her life, and had her first child at 48. You would never know it to look at her - she is exceptionally fit and healthy and just has done so much for herself. Her son and husband are wonderful and she teaches at a state university in a very difficult field.

So we had dinner and played with her son, and watched my son be an awkward teenager and hung out, and she opened up some more about the period of her life after we lost touch. It was just such a nice night.

Sometime Saturday afternoon my brother called and asked if we wanted to meet for breakfast when he and the family went back to the Cape on Sunday, so bright and early Sunday, we met them at our favorite breakfast place and hung out for a bit. Then we hit Tarjay and ended up spending way too much money, but I'm so excited (yes I am OLD) that I now have a week's worth of new underwear.

Andy has 6 new tee shirts with witty (for an adolescent) sayings on them. There was one with a picture of a night stand that said "one night stand" that I did not allow him to have. I am such a fuddy duddy.

Came home, sat in our air conditioned den in our reclining chairs and read the Sunday papers while I finished the festival of laundry. Around 5 we headed out for dinner with a neighbor and her daughter and used up a gift card and a $10 coupon at Outback. They came back home with us, we finished the cobbler from Saturday night and watched Kindergarten Cop all over again. So relaxing and restful.

So today - busy week, work, clean, pack.

And for now, that's all I got.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!