Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:23 a.m. - 2009-07-24
And when they say it isn't, it really is about money

Another day of this soggy summer pattern - humid, rain, grey. We are only allowed up to 36 hours of sunny weather at a time, and part of that must be at night.

My Ohio friend has come and gone. It was a good visit. I think she's back on track into the real world. She actually signed up for an online dating service while she was at our house. She said that this was the first time she felt like a normal person since her husband died about three years ago. She's made some decisions about dealing with her parents' failing health, and she seems to be taking care of herself.

Somehow I have ended up with company this weekend. Another long-time friend. We've been out of touch for many years but have reconnected. They are coming for dinner on Saturday and I feel better now that I've decided what to make. The house is relatively clean so that shouldn't be a big hairy deal. Then on Sunday, spouse, Andy and I will begin packing for vacation.

Work has been a whirlwind! Lots of stuff, lots of new projects, lots of holding patterns waiting for people to sign off on the stuff that they needed yesterday but that seems to take them three weeks to get around to signing off on so that we can begin production.

I am making a pledge to myself to get on a serious eating program (read DIET) when we get back from vacation. I am feeling gross and was a little startled by my image in the mirror the other day. We're not talking about a few pounds to lose. I am seriously overweight.

Andy is going through a funny period. He disdains us of late. I know it is part of the process. There is alot of eye rolling and signing. And then at the end of the day, he becomes a little kid again and wants to snuggle in our bed and hang out. It is becoming my favorite time of the day.

Let's see - other people's travails: My SIL had a second interview in her state's capital for a job she doesn't expect to get. My mother went with her again for the interview and they turned it into a little three-day trip because my mother blew two tires on a particularly busy/dangerous stretch of road when they were on their way to my sister's place. Everyone is fine. I am glad I missed the drama.

My good friend who is like a brother has lost his job. He was laid off earlier this week. His wife is formerly silent friend, and he begged us to come for dinner next week, so we are coming.

My co-workers have had various car issues and I am trying not to get sucked into the drama.

I am writing my own review and I'm giving myself a fabulous one for next week.

Tonight I am getting a hair cut and color. I'm also looking for suggestions on things to read while I'm on vacation.

And except for the rainy, happy Friday dance, that's all I got.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!