Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:06 a.m. - 2009-06-12
Tick tock tick tock

What? Another tear in the time-space continuum? I SWEAR I post daily, but whatsup with this week? It isn't especially intense so far...I just don't know.

Mammo results came back just fine. Another year. Check.

My mother is a little off, she's been calling me every day, though again, I don't know what I am supposed to do for her. I am CONVINCED that the psychopharmacologist doesn't really know what he's doing, and my mother has said that she feels her meds aren't working. This week especially, she has "slept through" three different appointments that she had made. Is this her cry for help (in addition to all the other crap.) Do I go down there again and do an intervention? Will my help be worth it to her? Or will I just get flayed again? If I knew she would actually listen, it would be worth the special kind of torture, but somehow, I'm not sure she'll be receptive, and I suspect I will get no backup from my father. I would be there in a minute if I felt she was anything more than "feeling bad" but that doesn't seem to be it. She has also put on about 30 pounds since her knee surgery in November and is surprised that her knee still hurts her. She got a doctors' appointment but the doctor has closed his practice and the new one doesn't take medicare so she has to pay out of pocket. According to my SIL, that made her depressed, so she started drinking Manhattans.

I only got part of that story from my mother. The drinking part was left out.

I am sure she is frustrated, and it know it is awful to be in constant pain.

So what am I supposed to do? Do I wait until August when we're down there? Or do I just assume she is an adult (as she has told me so MANY times before) and that she doesn't need my opinion or help no matter how it is offered. Or is that just an obstacle that I'm supposed to overcome to prove that I will take care of her no matter what she does to stop us - disprove us - disapprove of us.

My folks were supposed to come up in a few weeks, but my mother says she couldn't find cheap airline tickets. In a way, I don't mind, because I know they'll be up for several weeks in August when they bring Andy back from his week with them.

So.

Anyway.

This weekend: Andy is at his band outing until 10 pm. tonight at an amusement park about an hour north of us. Should be fun if the weather cooperates. So spouse and I are supposed to double date with my neighborfriend and her husband, but they can't decide on a time.

So we're waiting.

Tomorrow Andy has his sax lesson, then we'll do the usual Saturday chores and errands, and Andy has a sleepover birthday party at a friends. Ten twelve year old boys. She is very brave.

So no duties and obligations other than Andy's lesson. YAY! I am working parts of the next two weekends and my friend from Ohio is supposed to be coming the fourth of July, but hasn't made her plane reservations yet so we're waiting.

Am I detecting a theme here?

And for now, that's all I got.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!