Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:42 a.m. - 2009-06-01
Overflossed on Monday

As usual, I always think I'm going to get more done than I do - like giving myself a little punishment before I even get started. Not especially an emotionally healthy thing to do.

Got the men-folk off to camping Friday afternoon. Got their bag dinners ready, got the cooler packed for the patrol. (Really - WHO eats frozen pizza on a camping trip?) And got them there early - everyone was leaving at 5 because the state park was about two hours away. Except for the scout master who was supposed to step down two months ago, but who still has the trailer, and who is still an ass hat, and didn't show up until 6, making everyone not only an hour late, but delaying the opportunity for everyone to load their stuff into the trailer BEFORE THE FREAKIN' RAIN STARTED. But I'm not bitter. I don't know why this guy makes me so pissed off. He wouldn't know me from a hole in the wall, and yet I see him belittle the boys, say humiliating things about them and think its funny. And this guy is supposedly a special ed teacher in the high school. I hope this is his last camping trip.

Anyway. Friday night I sorted through some boxes of papers we had and got rid of alot of stuff, then had a poptart for dinner. My goal was to get rid of the piles of clothes and other stuff in our bedroom. I had this fantasy that spouse would come home to a newly clean, newly decorated space, but no such luck. I spend two hours Friday night going through the summer and winter clothes and an obscene number of pairs of shoes. Friday night I got rid of a bag of shoes and a bag of clothes for Goodwill. There was some new stuff with tags that I probably could have sold on ebay, but I don't know how to do that yet, so I just wanted it out.

I fell asleep around 10:30, but woke up in time to see the last half hour of Leno's last late show. It was a cute ending. I'm curious about his new show, though I suspect it will "forever change the landscape of night-time television." I hear that in my head every time I think about the new show.

In the olden days, when I had energy, spouse and I used to stay up and watch several of the 10 p.m. series - Law and ORder, LA Law, NYPD Blue, even ER, but now, I go to bed an hour earlier (because we have to get up an hour and a half earlier.)

Saturday I got up - still hadn't heard from the men, but I figured they just didn't have phone service where they were. My folks called before they got on their cruise. My mother is looking forward to doing nothing. And my mean little heart wants to know why that is different from what she does on land? Will I be that tired or unmotivated when I am her age? Am I supposed to see this as a sign that her meds aren't really working? What am I supposed to do with this???

Anyway.

Saturday afternoon I dropped off bags of Andy's outgrown clothes to a friend's house. Again, lots of new clothes with the tags still on them that Andy either decided he didn't like or forget were in his drawer.

I think I am taking a new approach to clothes shopping in the fall and just giving him a set amount and letting him pick what he wants instead of suggesting things. Except that he'll come back with a bag full of shorts and tee shirts to wear in December and January.

I realized Saturday afternoon as I was making the rounds that I hadn't eaten all day, so I treated myself to the $9.95 special at 0utback (6 oz filet, two sides) and got two wedge salads as my sides. Very tasty! Watched "On the Town" with Gene Kelly, Frank Sinatra and Jules Munshen on the public tv station while I continued to work on the bedroom. Fell asleep around 10 ish again, but woke up hourly. I always sleep better with spouse - even with his (and my) snoring.

Sunday morning I got up around 6:30 to finish and go to church, then I made the trek to the attended goodwill station with four bags of clothes, a box of toys and some house hold goods. On the morning drive - and it was a SPECTACULAR day - I saw two things that made me laugh: The first was a pair of swans and their babies on a swamp pond along Route 1. They had four or five babies that were paddling around like crazy. Then I saw a prius and a '56 cadillac eyeing each other trying to out pace the other. Such an incongruous pairing!

After the drop off I stopped for an iced tea and a sausage mcmuffin and spouse and Andy called (around 8:30) to say they were headed home. I expected them around 11:30, but they made good time, had to wait AGAIN for the scout master and the trailer so that they could unload. My neighbor called and asked if we wanted to go to breakfast/brunch when the boys were back, so Andy and spouse came home, unloaded the car and set up the tarp and tents to dry - showered and we went out. I was glad to have them home!

Came home, continued the festival of laundry (ewww - there were slugs on the tent...) and we're getting ready for a busy week!

On the agenda:
Andy starts his braces today (spacers)
Karate (doubling up since we missed last week)
Band concert on Wednesday - also company - relatives/friends who are coming to hear Andy play - AND HE HAS A SOLO!)
Scout meeting to finish ranks and the paper work for two badges
In-law visit on Saturday with spouse's parents and his brother, SIL and niece!

Also in there - a dentist appointment for spouse and a physical for me (both on Wednesday.)

I'm hopeful to keep the purging momentum going and get rid of more stuff and put away the other stuff. We'll see.

And for now, that's all I got.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!