Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:50 a.m. - 2009-05-18
Write good

Weekends are always too short! Saturday after Andy's sax lesson, we stopped to get a birthday gift for the party we were going to later that day. We picked out a fish kite and a cowboy set. Then we decided to look at shoes for Andy since he needs a pair of dress black shoes for his upcoming band concert, and he is already outgrowing the $60 sneakers we got him six weeks ago. So two pairs of shoes later, we decided to go to lunch and ended up at our favorite Tex/Mex place for tacos and enciladas. Then we came home and started laundry. Andy began the task of cleaning out his closet which was the central dumping station for the many times he volunteered to clean his room.

Spouse made it home around 3, then we jumped in the car and headed to the birthday party. That was kind of fun - there were just a few families and one couple who was just a total piece of work. It called to mind the phrase my Irish relatives used to say about someone who was "too grand to know ya."

Left the party around 6:30, opted NOT to stop by the inlaws even though they were just a few blocks away, and Andy and I went to Mass so we could sleep in on Sunday. Came home, Andy played man hunt with the neighborhood kids and spouse and I caught up on some season finales that we had taped earlier in the week. Sunday morning I had my official Mother's Day celebration. Spouse got me a box of chocolates from a place locally that makes amazing stuff and two more beads for my tr0ll bead bracelet. We also had lobster yesterday - for the first time in at least two years. We really hadn't been able to afford it, but it was kind of a celebration and the prices were reasonable, so spouse got three two-pounders, and he and I cleaned them after they were cooked and we all had enough for a filling dinner, and more for tonight's dinner. Yum!

My father called me Friday afternoon to say that he had been talking to the doctor and that his chest x-ray looked the same as his x-ray five years ago. I begged him to stop smoking, but who knows. I am so grateful that there isn't something more serious going on right now.

Unless my parents are keeping something from me.

Not that you get to see it here, but over the last three weeks, I have gotten some nice praise for my writing. Two people wrote the staff notes saying how much they enjoyed the commencement speeches; the commencement speaker (a pulitzer-prize winning political cartoonist) commented on how great the article was that was written about him and wanted to meet the author; and an area editor asked me if I wanted to do some writing on the side because my press releases always made him take notice. I'll take praise where I can get it.

Sometimes I'm even funny.

So.

Don't know why, but this week is shaping up to be another crazy week - two more speeches to write, a video production to edit and some web pages to redesign. Oh. And also world peace.

I'm taking this Friday off, and trying to get this Wednesday off too. I've still got a few weeks of vacation left to burn and if I don't take it by next Friday, I'll lose it.

And for now, that's all I got.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!