Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:07 a.m. - 2009-05-04
I am not your broom

Do I always say this? Do I always have regrets that I didn't do more over the weekend? On Friday afternoon, I went through the bedroom and got rid of two huge boxes of stuff - mostly clothes and tchotchke, including gifts I had gotten to put in the gift closet. Gone, gone, gone to a girl scout charity sale. Also got rid of the older teevee that the FIL had given us and that we used until a few months ago, along with its fancy pants speakers and the cabinet we used. That is gone. I put away a bunch of winter clothes, and yet the bedroom looks e ven worse and I don't know when I'll have time to get back to it. I suppose that is symbolic on so many levels.

Friday night we went out for a pizza, then came home and hung out. Andy was asked to his friend's house for a sleepover, so he went right after sax lessons and lunch, then I picked him up for church at 4 and brought him back. Spouse and I went out for a cheapie date dinner. I am still worried that we will have not much to talk about when Andy goes to college.

Sunday was newspaper, laundry and errands, then D&O with the in-laws. We did an early mother's day celebration with MIL since I'll be flying to Florida for my nephew's confirmation on a MONDAY NIGHT. What a pain in the ass.

So we got her a fiction book about girls working in the Lowell mills (she did her dissertation on the labor movement); also 10 bags of mulch delivered, which really made her happy. She got me a beautiful artisan glass bowl with multi color raised polka dots.

It is funny, that this year I got so many bowls as gifts. For Christmas, my brother and SIL gave me a pewter bowl (I suspect it might be a re-gift, but that is okay.) Spouse's brother gave me a ceramic bowl with a fish on it; my friend gave me a small bowl with little purple flowers; and now this. I wonder if I should seek deeper meaning in this?

Nah.

It is another murky-weather week. We relented and let Andy wear shorts to school, though I insisted on socks just because I am a mean mother and want everyone to make fun of him because no one else would DREAM of wearing socks with sneakers when the weather is 59 in the afternoon.

This will be a crazy week - between commencement, lots of evening events and leaving on Sunday morning for a 48-hour trip, I'm kinda crashing already.

Spouse and I are going through a rough patch of something that has been plaguing us for two-decades, but it still pisses me off.

Spoke with most of my siblings this weekend, and everyone is going through their own irritations. Perhaps we'll all rid ourselves of this irrntant sand and have enough pearls for a necklace by the time summer rolls around.

Yesterday, FIL was just pissing me off in his usual way, ordering people around and then telling everyone that whatever they did for him was not done correctly; and spouse did this really amazing thing. He said to his father "I hope I am as distinguished looking as you when I get older" and his father just beamed. And then he was decent for the rest of the evening (mostly.)

And for now, that's all I got.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!