Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:48 a.m. - 2009-04-09
Peepers and daffodils

I forgot to write that the other night, Andy and I finally heard the first peepers of the season! YAY!

I'm still congested and stuffy, but I'm trying to tell myself I'm getting better.

Yesterday was pretty low key - I did some work from home. I don't know if I still have a fever, but I gotta say, my knees are especially sore this week. Wonder if it is a virus or because I've been sleeping in a chair? We had various leftovers for dinner so I only had to reheat things, not cook. My mother made Andy's favorite - macaroni and cheese with ham. She made three big casseroles of it, so we froze two and he'll be eating the last one all week. He had it for dinner. He had it for breakfast.

My brother came over around 10 ish after an interview. Did I write that he laid himself off and has six months severance? Anyway, he came, hung out, then we went to lunch/breakfast at Cr@cker Barrel. My folks and bro left from there, and spouse and I headed home. Spouse picked up a few groceries for me (we're having dinner company tonight) and I finished up some laundry, paid the bills and sent out a couple of Easter cards.

Andy had CCD and Scouts last night and spouse volunteered to take him and used the time to grade some of his blue books.

Tonight a work friend from a previous job is coming over and I'll get all the dirt. It will be great to see her! I'm making Mediterranean pasta, caesar salad, and a veggie antipasto. For dessert I'm just doing strawberries and ice cream. Just keeping it simple. Tomorrow I've taken the day off and will hang out with Andy, do some Easter basket stuff and fix a scrapbook that I made for my mother's 65th birthday. The binding broke a few years ago and now at least I'll finally be able to fix it.

Our weekend is kinda busy. Saturday Andy has sax lessons, then we're bringing dinner to the in-laws Saturday night. Sunday morning Andy and I will go to church (7:30) then we have our annual neighborhood Easter Egg hunt (I'm in charge of bacon and ham) and Sunday afternoon we're going to my brother's for dinner (Grilled lamb!) I'm in charge of dessert and veggies - I've got a great apple/raspberry pie in the freezer and I'll make asparagas with a lemon/shallot vinaigrette. Then we'll bring my folks home. They'll stay with us until Tuesday morning, then their friends will pick them up and take them to their house where they'll hang out until Wednesday, then the friends will take them to the airport.

I took Monday off, so I'm looking at a four-day weekend ahead! WOOO HOOO!

Also, I'm on Twitter. If you want a link, let me know. I'm trying to figure out if I can link it from here. But, I'm still a luddite.

And for now, that's all I got.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!