Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:01 a.m. - 2009-04-01
Angst and Paranoia in the air along with pollen


Andy continued in penitent mode. He didn't have homework, but did go right upstairs to practice when I got him home. Spouse came in a few minutes later and went to work prepping dinner (pasta with leftover chicken sausages). I was glad not to have to cook. Helped spouse get packed for his big trip, ran the anti-virus and malware software on our computers (FOUR HOURS PEOPLE!) Fortunately, nothing was infected.

Spouse had to get up at 3 a.m., so I got up with him, made his coffee and he was off. Then he called when he got to the commuter lot (I'd asked him to) and again at 5:15 when he got to the airport. By then, I couldn't get back to sleep, so I just got up. And still, Andy was a tiny bit late getting out the door. We are full of teenager at the moment.

I can't remember how long it takes to fly from the east coast to the west coast.

Paid a big pile of bills yesterday, thought about a possible April fools joke and abandoned the idea.

Spoke to my mother for her birthday. Her card arrived on time, and her gift is up here. She was a little testy on the phone, and when I told her that I was upset that Andy was still going to websites we hadn't given him permission to look at (he's downloading mp3 songs) and we were concerned about web security. She said that my siblings and I did things like that all the time. I bit my tongue to remind her that we didn't have computers back then. Nor were we allowed to use the phone without permission. She felt compelled to continue the snarkiness and ended with "Oh, I forget you were all perfect." Really. Was that necessary? There was no fun in that phrase, she wasn't joking. I just don't get it.

Should make for a fun, fun, fun visit.

I'm waiting for her to change the visiting dates. She made a point to tell me a few weeks ago, that they didn't want to leave our house before Wednesday, but now that my brother isn't working, I'm guessing they'll want to get to his house sooner. We'll see.

Here's what I'm waiting for in the mail:

1. A bag of 1,400 temporary tattoos
2. A CD of Japanese punk band music
3. Four tea spoons that kinda sorta match our flatware
4. Our IRS refund
5. A Naruto headband from the anti water fall village.

2 and 5 are birthday presents for Andy.

Thank you for the nice notes and emails about Andy and the book log. I'm considering them all.

And I'm trying to get over this bout of angst about spouse being gone. I worked out several scenarios and made a list of things I would have to do if something happened to him. Not a good thing to do at 3:30 in the morning.

And for now, that's all I got.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!