Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:27 a.m. - 2009-01-08
Put your storm windows down!

Ahhh. Thursday, and the weekend is in site. Tonight I go out with some mommies - we are tired and can ill-afford to do so, but we must. No one drinks. We just eat dinner and diet cokes.

Today we designated as clean-up day in the office, so I am hopeful to get rid of several stacks of newspapers and clioppings that can later be filed. It is the first step to New Year cleanliness and organization. Last night I contacted a new friend whose son is as fanatical about Star Wars as Andy used to be and offered her Andy's complete sheet set for either twin or full bed. She is picking that up this weekend! YAY!

I am getting some disconcerting stories from my new SIL who also speaks with my mother daily. My mother is still concerned about being taken off of her pain meds. She is on a number of meds for the usual - BP, cholesterol; but also on meds for anxiety and depression, and the opiates just add a whole new dimension. I do not think she has been drinking since the Christmas day incident, but I do not ask any more.

Anyway, my mother has brought this up a time or two with me. I don't know what to say except to suggest other pain relievers like naproxin or acetomeniphin. She sees the doctor tomorrow, so more will be revealed.

We survived the ice storm yesterday, though today was a bit treacherous getting to work. Whatever didn't evaporate yesterday, froze last night and is lying in wait for those without traction.

Last night in an extreme pre-emptive move, I gave money to a co-worker and asked her to bring us coffee and donuts. Aaaaah. A reason to get out of bed, get dressed and drive to the office. Mine is gone already.

Tomorrow I have to do some health related things, so I have a sick-day. Did I write about my last spell of hypochondria? I cut my finger last weekend on a pan in the cabinet. It didn't look rusty, but I can't remember when I last had a tetanus booster. Anyway, my right thigh and left arm started to hurt the other night and woke me up, and I convinced myself I was getting tetanus. Then I fell asleep.

Escarole soup turned out good last night, though I added some of the leftover black eyed peas from New Year's Day and it was just a mealy distraction - not enough to ruin the soup, but enough to say that I'd never do that again. I'm making dream dinners Saturday morning with my neighbor friend, and probably making a kitchen sink soup to clean out the fridge over the weekend.

And for now, that's all I got.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!