Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

11:08 a.m. - 2008-12-31
Maybe more cleaning products

YAY! Spouse is home safely from San Francisco. I am so happy! So that's 2008. We are ending it with a bang - big snow and last night they decided to cancel work, so I could shut off the alarm, post the notice on the website and sleep in! YAY! Yesterday I did more grocery shopping for the party and today is house cleaning for our overnight guests who may not come now because it is snowing. I asked if they wanted to come yesterday, but they said they'd be fine driving in snow with their four-wheel drive. But today, not so much. Oh well.

I'll get my listy stuff over with, then I'll try and be profound about the past year. But first - a mean thing. My BIL and SIL were too busy to buy us a Christmas gift this year. MIL told spouse yesterday on the phone.

Made my Nana's macaroni for the party last night so it is in the fridge. Got the ham, got the rolls, got the chips, etc. I'm going to make the crab dip from Crockpotting for a Year - my new favorite blog. Gassed the car, did some banking, got some plastic bins for the holiday take-down this weekend. Made pasta with chicken sausages for dinner (very yummy) and tracked down the holiday paper goods (cups, plates, etc.) Watched some L&A and crashed around 11. Andy has a birthday party/movie thing this afternoon, so we're watching to see if it will be cancelled.

We actually slept in until 8 this morning and the snow had not started yet. Around 8:30, my neighbor stopped by and then it began to snow. I made some trader joe chocolate croissants for breakfast - so very yummy! And noticed that there was a package in the door - my Mom sent me some snow man jeans.

My poor sister is sick with a fever (Flu I think) and my mother is feeling queasy, but I think it might be her meds. She is going for a walk today with my Dad.

And so.

Do I have anything deep to say? I think 2008 was a trying, testing year. I think that I have more lessons to learn, that I have to be less judgmental and more forgiving. That I have to focus on what I already have and be grateful. That I have to do something to make the world a little better - whatever that is.

I have been given so many gifts and blessings - including my d-land friends. I have a sweet, thoughtful, kind, funny, supportive husband. I have the most wonderful boy in the world who is my son. I have a place to write what I think and feel without obvious reproach. I have the kind words of support from people I have never met in person and whose words pull me out of that dark pit I talk myself into. Thank you d-land friends and fellow bloggers/journalists/writers.

For 2009? I'd like to get more fit. I'd like to be more frugal. I'd like to be tidier and get rid of stuff - physically and emotionally. I'd like to be kinder to others and myself.

So happy new year! I hope for all of you that it will be the kind of year that makes you smile and smile.

And for now, that's all I got.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!