Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8:20 a.m. - 2008-12-08
Add it to the list

We did so much this weekend, that I almost forgot about Friday! The MTV crew came, and we shot film, and we interviewed, and we did b-roll, and we did panoramic shots, then I rushed off to Andy's conference, which was "student-conducted." Each of his three teachers appeared for about 15 -20 seconds during the 15-minute period and told us how much they enjoyed Andy, and what a nice boy he is, and what a great student he is. I KNOW that, but why is he having trouble in history? We don't get to know that yet.

Then I ran back to work, spouse and Andy had lunch and went home (because Friday was another HALF DAY!) and I worked with the MTV crew until after 5.

Checked in with my parents. My mother was supposed to be discharged at noon, but didn't get home until 6, but she was glad to be in her own bed.

Came home, we went out to dinner (meh); picked up some Christmas gifts and a few groceries, then came home and crashed.

Saturday morning I took Andy to his sax lesson, stopped at a craft store for two things, fed Andy lunch (he went to a birthday party) and then spouse and I collected, wrapped, tagged and packed gifts. I have most of my Florida gifts ready for the P.O. day, and all of my Ohio gifts done. Spouse will take them to the P.O. this morning and send them off. We also wrapped and tagged spouse's mother's birthday gifts; and my brother's family's gifts. Whew!

Andy and I went to church and that meant we could sleep in on Sunday morning.

Saturday night I made stuffed flouder with green beans and a lemony sauce. Yum!

I cannot remember what I did after dinner. Oh yah - laundry, and Andy hung out with his friends until about 9, then came home and we watched part of a movie.

Sunday morning I could not fall back to sleep after 6, so I got up and hunted down the Christmas cards and did some more laundry. Then I noticed we got a dusting of snow! Very picturesque. Spouse wanted to go out to breakfast, so we did and had a yummy meal, then went to target to get some air filters and large gift bags. Somehow it ended up being 65 dollars. Andy also found a gift for spouse, and some chocolate covered pretzels.

We set up our mirror pond/snow village last night and it looks really nice. Andy was really excited to do it. I made another dream dinner - pecan pork roast - SO DELICIOUS! and I served it with leftover veggies and some roasted potatoes. We also had pie because I had some frozen ones and we needed space in the freezer. Ahem.

Tonight I have to pay bills and do some Christmas cards. We do an open house every year (and have for about 20 years - since before we were married) on New Year's Day, and spouse printed up the invitations. Let me know if you want to come!

Oh - and my big work news - the big city paper ran the story we've been working on for the last couple of months - a big profile of the college. The article ran on the front page of the Metro Section above the fold and it was spectacular. For me professionally, it is like winning the superbowl. And the timing couldn't be better. And please don't judge my writing ability on this paragraph.


Oh - and the MTV piece is supposed to run on December 20.

So this week - Scouts, one work night, Christmas carol party with the neighbors (may be at my house?) MIL's birthday lunch and a holiday pops concert. Whew!

I would like to move from loving the holidays because I am getting stuff crossed off my list, and knowing I got gifts my family will like, to feeling a little more spiritual and connected to the universe. Do you think that's asking too much?

And for now, that's all I got.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!