Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

11:29 a.m. - 2008-12-01
Just maybe, it won't get too crazy

Oh, what a nice weekend. Friday afternoon, my brother, my SIL and the kids came and we hung out in the afternoon. I thawed some lasagna I had in the freezer, made a salad and some broccoli. We chatted and the kids played on the Wii, and spouse was so fabulous and made all the beds and picked up the guest room.

Everyone was kind of sleepy Friday night, so the kids willingly went to sleep around 9:30, and my bro and SIL came home around 10. They enjoyed the dinner and went to the outlet mall nearby. We all conked out around 11.

Saturday morning I was the first one up, so I went to our favorite bagel place and brought home bagels and fruit. SIL, spouse and I went to a craft fair in the next town that had some really creative stuff! Then we came home, picked up the rest of the family and headed out to the "Man Mall" which is a new shopping complex near a football stadium. There is a new "five guys burgers" that opened up, so we went for lunch - OH! MY! Really delicious burgers! - then walked around a bit and also went to Bass Pro Shoppes (I'd never been.) Very cool! My brother and his family split off and headed home. Spouse dropped Andy and I off at church and then we came home and had leftovers and watched junky teevee.

Sunday morning I went through the newspapers, did the festival of laundry (now extended through tomorrow!) and got ready for our brunch company. It was a nice visit - I made scrambled eggs with boursin cheese and truffle oil, bagels, banana bread, bacon, sausage and our guests brought yummy fruit salad.

They gave us our birthday presents - I got a set of tupperware holiday canisters that I really like, and spouse got a very nice bottle of wine.

After they left, I finished up some online shopping, finished up my Christmas craft, ordered photos for the holiday cards and went to bed worrying about my mother's surgery today.

My dad just called. She is fine, came through the surgery just great, and is in recovery until mid-afternoon. I expect I'll get to talk to her tomorrow.

I'm afraid to jinx myself, but I kinda feel on top of things holiday-wise. I only have two more gifts to think about/buy; and just about everything else is ready to be shipped down. I kept some of my summer clothes out so packing for Florida shouldn't be too much of a hassle.

And now, I'm back at work, though I worked hard to catch up on things before I went away.

What does this week hold? Scout meeting tonight, going to the craft store with neighborfriend tomorrow night, possible town council meeting Wednesday night. Thursday night nothing so far; Friday night nothing so far; and here's the biggie - NO SPECIFIC PLANS THIS WEEKEND! YAY!

We got some of our holiday decorations up - our outside spiral light trees, the wreath on the door, and a few things inside. We set up a tacky little silver tree in the living room since we won't be putting up a big tree this year, and this week we'll put up our mirror pond.

And for virtuousness - I have a half-turkey in the crock pot (from "A year of crockpotting" blog; and a loaf of bread in the bread machine. I love myself today.

And for now, that's all I got.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!