Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8:54 a.m. - 2008-11-21
What does the weekend smell like?

Pine, snow and turkey.

Happy, happy Friday dance!

It is cold and dry, and I smell like lavendar. Busy afternoon yesterday. I am glad I got to spend some time with Gabriel, our student from the Sudan who is so excited that he is going to get to see his mother whom he hasn't seen in 15 years. We are giving him a camera so he can document, and I'm hopeful he will email us every few days if he can find access to the Internet and a computer.

I am so grateful for the gift of knowing him - this hopeful man whose whole body smiles when he talks about his family. I first met Gabriel last year and learned the story of how he discovered that the family he had believed had been killed when his village was attacked when he was a boy, then spent a half-dozen years in a refugee camp with out family of any kind; came to the U.S., made a life for himself and just about two years ago discovered that his Mom and sisters were alive. He didn't believe it at first and asked his mother what she used to call him when he was little, and she told him the pet name, and he laughed and cried and spent $170 on a phone call that changed his life again.

So. Counting blessings! And Gabriel is one of them.

Andy and spouse are just about packed for their camping trip and will leave about 6 tonight. I am having dinner with a neighborfriend, then going to another neighborfriend's book party. Tomorrow is all about the scrapbooking and I am very excited!!!

Our phone at home seems to be out of order. Wonder how long that will take to be resolved???

I am counting my blessings, but I am really sad that my favorite teevee show "Pushing Daisies" is being cancelled. Sob. No one I know actually watches it, but it is so quirky and sweet.

My mother and sister left on a cruise this morning. I think it is just for the weekend.

Did I already say that I am off of work next week? We already have Wed, Thurs and Friday off for the Thanksgiving holiday, but I took Monday and Tuesday off too (although I think I'll have to do some stuff on the web. on Sunday night and Monday). So I'm REALLY LOOKING FORWARD to having some time off. Spouse and I might do some shopping and lunch on Monday. Tuesday he has to work so I'll actually have a few hours alone in my house.

And for now, that's all I got.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!