Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8:46 a.m. - 2008-11-10
Just the weekend list

Got lots done this weekend. Friday night we discovered that some of the radio stations were playing Christmas Music! Yes, I know it is too soon, and that Thanksgiving is still a few weeks away, but I was ready for some of the music (although after hearing Jingle Bell Rock and Christmas Shoes 74 times since then, not so much.) Andy was at first annoyed, but after five minutes really got into it. He is a big fan of Manheim Steamroller and Trans Siberian Railroad.

So Friday night we had our home made pizza - the first time in months I think! I baked some pumpkin breads to give our friend on Saturday and to the in-laws Saturday afternoon, and packed up a get well box for my niece who is getting her tonsils out on Wednesday. Andy's sax lesson was cancelled because his teacher's office computer crashed and the techs were there working on it, so it gave me an extra hour on Saturday to do the bills and mail the packages and get a start on laundry. Then we drove to our friends, chatted for a while, took her to lunch, visited some more and headed out around 2:30 to go and visit spouse's parents who were in remarkably good moods.

We celebrated spouse's 50th birthday early - he had a lobster for dinner (so did Andy!) I had shrimp cocktail since I was still full from lunch. His parents gave spouse a really nice watch and it was a nice evening. Got home around 9, just in time for Andy to watch part of an anime movie and I ordered some stuff on line for Christmas presents. Sunday morning we were up early again because Andy's lesson was moved to Sunday, so Andy and I headed out after church, then we hit two of the department store chains and checked out some other potential holiday gifts. Came home and picked up spouse to go to brunch with the neighbors at Cr@cker Barrel. They've had this tacky, spindly silver Christmas tree in the window for the last month and I fell in love with it, but it was too pricey ($40) and we have more decorations than we need. But. It was on sale yesterday and we decided to get it and it will be our tree this year because since we're traveling to Flora Dora we won't put a big tree up. Andy loves it so that's good. It's about 3 feet tall and shiny silver. Really tacky.

Got back from lunch and went through the Sunday papers, my neighbor called and wanted to go to a craft store, so we headed out again and she picked up some half-prize garland to put on her porch railing. Came home, finished the laundry and the bills, got Andy packed for school and fell into bed around 10:30.

Today is full of meetings, and I am feeling a cold trying to move in, but I am working hard to keep it away. Spouse just brought me a giant iced tea - so I'll keep pushing the fluids. TMI?

Tonight we're having Greek Island shrimp with rice, and probably asparagas.

And for now, that's all I got.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!