Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8:50 a.m. - 2008-11-05
New Leaves

I almost forgot - my sun fulfilled his destiny this weekend - I KNEW I had kids for a reason! We live in the woods, at the end of the street, with about 50 large oak and maple trees interspersed with another dozen enormous pine trees, so our yard is always full of leaves and pine needles. We don't have a big piece of property, it is just full of trees. Anyway, this time of year is problematic because we have to get rid of all the leaves, and we want to do it in an ecologically sound and cost-effective way.

So this year I offered the job to both spouse and to Andy. I said that spouse could take $150 and spend it any way he wanted if he would take care of the leaves. And I offered Andy $5 a bag if he would do some of the leaves. Spouse went out on Saturday and spent his $150 before beginning the leaf project. Andy stayed home and raked and bagged 28 bags of leaves. At. Five. Dollars. A. Bag. I figured AT MOST, he would do five and then tucker out, but he stuck with it. He said I didn't have to pay him, but I told him that we keep our word, and we keep our commitments and handed over the money (half for the bank account, half he could use.) AAAUGH! This is not cost effective! Oh well, I'm proud of Andy and he stuck with it. We are now renegotiating the price of subsequent bags of leaves, and spouse better get his tail in gear and finish up!

I voted mid-day yesterday and there were still long lines. Had a busy day at work, had a quick lunch with spouse and Andy after I voted, then came back and worked for another six hours. Spouse grilled some swordfish last night and we had it with rice and asparagas. Tonight is meatballs that I froze last month and pasta.

So. The Election. Spouse and I stayed up and watched some of the returns (because I fell asleep after dinner for a half-hour.)

I am happy for change. Things have to be better and the intolerance and polarization of wealth has to stop.

I am glad that racial barriers have been broken. I am hopeful that soon gender barriers will be broken as well.

And for now, that's all I got. (Well, I also have alot of leaves.)

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!