Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8:11 a.m. - 2008-09-16
Even if you play by the rules

I think I had seven whole minutes where I felt kind of on top of things at work, and now that feeling is gone, gone, gone. Today is non-stop meetings. I've been here for an hour already after dropping the kids off at school and I still don't see how I am goign to catch up. And tomorrow and Wednesday I am out of the office for good chunks of the day photographing a golf tournament and then doing a 7-hour trade show exhibit. Ugh. Tonight I have to work late because we have a job fair for students and I NEED to get some work-study students this semester. Tomorrow I have to be in early because of the golf tournament. I feel sorry for myself.

Relatively uneventful evening. Picked Andy up from his after-school babysitting (he has been off by himself which would worry me if he weren't the only sixth grader in the program.) At least he gets most of his homework done. Anyway, we came home, he helped me empty the dishwasher and we made BLTs for dinner. Very tasty. I paid the bills, he practiced sax, spouse cleaned up the kitchen. I think I fell asleep for about a half-hour. Then I finished up the survey that ends our participation in a marriage research program run by a college in another city. We've participated for a year and a half. It's been an interesting process but the surveys take over an hour to complete. Now it is done.

Today is the day of non-stop meetings: Safety committee, "Working Smarter" committee; Continuing Ed marketing meeting; intranet meeting, meeting with my boss, and then the job fair starts at 4 and runs until 7:30. I don't expect to be able to stay past 6. I've been here since 7:10 this morning. I need a nap.

I think that's about all I have to report on at the moment. I am hopeful that we will finally move on to some issues in this presidential election as opposed to who is more negative than the other. I am hopeful that there will at least be discussion of some oversight on the securities, stock and investment front so that we do not continue this financial collapse. I don't even want to think about opening my quarterly 401K statements for the rest of the year. And I know the CEOs of these fine establishments are walking away with lovely salaries and severance packages as they drive away in their chauffered vehicles from the companies that now no longer exist. But I'm not bitter.

And for now, that's all I got.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!