Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8:16 a.m. - 2008-09-15
The list goes on

It is Monday. Need I say more?

Spouse and I are both really tired. We worked like dawgs this weekend - on Saturday before noon we:

1. Finally got the rooter man to come and unclog the drain (he never showed up on Friday.)
2. Took Andy to Sax lessons
3. Mailed packages to Cocoabean and my mother
4. Did three loads of wash
5. Got a bunch of piggie supplies
6. Gassed up the two cars
7. Dropped off two dead teevees and an IBM computer from 1978 to the electronics recycling program four towns away
8. Picked up filters for the air HEPA filter; light bulbs for the energy efficient lamps and a stove scrubber sponge
9. Got bread and Andy snacks at the bakery outlet
10. Had brunch.

All by noon! I KNOW!

After brunch we came home, I continued the festival of laundry, made a grocery list and ordered some catalog stuff for the in-laws. (FIL wanted an opera DVD, and we got a pink pop-up tent for our toddler niece for Christmas.) Andy and I went to church, came home and watched part of a movie and fell asleep. Sunday we didn't have to get up at any particular time, so we slept until around 8 when Andy woke us up to tell us that HE had been up for nearly an hour.

Yesterday I made a fresh pasta sauce and meatballs for dinner, also I browned some meat for a WW pizza casserole dish we are going to have on Wednesday; roasted some veggies for Tuesday's dinner, prepped veggies for a crock pot dinner for this week and Andy and I cleaned out the tupperware cabinet and drawer. We have too much plastic. I got rid of alot, matched up everything with its lid, and the mis-matches will live in a bag for a few more weeks in case their mates appear. If not, away they go.

Friday was a bit of a frustration, though I did have quiet since I worked at home. I waited all afternoon for the rooter man who was supposed to come and unclog one of the bathroom sinks. Have I already whined and moaned about how we had a plumber come out and he couldn't do anything? For $140? Anyway, Rooter man was supposed to come between 2 and 4. At 4:30 I called and the testy answering service had no information. At 5 someone called saying that someone else was out sick and they didn't know WHEN the rooter man was coming, so I told them to cancel. They said they'd send someone out first thing on Sunday or monday and I asked why it wasn't first thing on Saturday, they said they had other customers. Oh. So I cancelled AGAIN. He said oh wait, I'll get someone to come out first thing on Saturday - at 9 a.m. and I will call and confirm no later than 5:15. Well you can guess the rest - 5:15 came and went, so spouse, Andy and I headed out for dinner (we tried a Japanese noodle house that was no longer Japanese, but Chinese, and it was just meh.) Then we hit trader joes and came home. When we got home, the rooter guy had called to leave a message that someone was going to come out at 9. Saturday morning 9 a.m. came and went, and finally around 9:30 someone showed up. We will not be using them again, though at least the drain is cleared, but they charged us a weekend fee which I must now fight.

I know, poor, poor me.

It is very hot, humid and windy here, though not from the hurricane. Those affected are in our prayers. Finally at church, the diocese is taking a collection for the last hurricane's victims in Haiti and Cuba.

So that's the Monday ramble. Tonight's dinner because of the heat - BLTs.

And for now, that's all I got.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!