Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8:08 a.m. - 2008-09-13
Reflection

I was purposeful about yesterday. I thought about the anniversary in the weeks before, but I wanted yesterday to be purposeful, and I was successful until I walked across campus for my first meeting yesterday morning and saw the American flag at half mast. And then I couldn't stop sobbing.

Have we been irreparably damaged? I know we have been irreparably changed. It is never safe any more, and that lack of safety has not been supplanted by kindness. So I have to work to make it so. Does that sound pompous? It doesn't matter, I have to do it for my son.

So yesterday was purposeful and productive. I scooted home at the end of the day to see Andy and spouse before they headed out to Karate and I headed out to a Mommies' night for dinner. Then the tupperware came. Know whose order was messed up? Mine. Oh well. So I sorted plastic and delivered plastic and went to dinner with four friends and ate meatloaf and mashed potatoes. I needed comfort food. Then, came home, tucked Andy in and fell asleep.

I kept waking up thinking I was catching my earring, but when I finally got up this morning, I realized that I have this wierd thing going on just behind my earlobe on my neck. It hurts. Alot. Is it a swolen lymph node or did I just sleep funny? But it is still aching. We'll see what happens over the weekend.

Did I already write that I am working from home today? In fact, I am still in my jammies! It is delightful. And you know who is here with me? NOBODY except the piggie.

Spouse's birthday present arrived. His bday isn't until November, but it will be the big five-oh. He wants a camera and I found a really good deal on one at costco, so I ordered it and it arrived.

Today the roto rooter man comes to clear out the sink after the plumber came a few weeks ago and charged us $140 to take out the u joint (I did that already) and tell us that we had to call the rooter man. Ugh. $200 of ugh.

Tonight we're going to a Japanese noodle restaurant for Andy. He is very excited.

Thank you Kim and Mary for your nice comments and wisdom on the stench of adolescent boys.

And for now, that's all I got. Next week I'll do the happy Friday dance.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!