Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:11 a.m. - 2008-08-20
Tropical storms

And then she woke up...I had a good time in Flora Dora with my parents. Andy and I got in around lunchtime on Saturday and we took my parents to Chick Fil-A and used coupons we got on our trip last month, so FREE LUNCH! Came home, ate lunch, hung out, checked the weather, played cards, got groceries, watched the olympics, etc. Sunday morning we took my folks to breakfast, then Andy, my mother and I went to the maul to get shower gifts for my brother and about to be SIL. We also tried some fragrances, (There is a LUSH in the Macy's where they live) and I got a few things, and they gave me a nice bag of freebies. I am loving the jungle conditioner bar. Who knew they made solid conditioner?

Anyway, after that Andy wanted to check out a store that carries Naruto things (an anime/manga character) and on the way back to the car we passed an Aveda store and the women asked us to determine our chakras and do a quick test. Actually it was quite lovely, and I bought a fragrance. I am either Chakra 7 or Chakra 4, I can't remember because the bottle was too big for me to take on the plane since I don't have a suitcase, (4 oz rather than 3) so my parents will bring it on Sunday. Came home, made dinner and watched the weather. It was pretty stormy by Sunday night and Monday morning thanks to Fay, and when I got to the airport, it took them an hour and a half to cancel the flight, so I was rebooked for the next day. I had to call work and let them know I wouldn't be in on Tuesday.

I was so torn about being there. On the one hand, I was glad to be with Andy and my folks and help them prepare for the storm. On the other hand, I caught my father smoking that morning, and it was so disheartening. I've smelled it on him before, but I chose to ignore it. This time I couldn't. I just wanted to go home and smoulder, and I missed spouse and I heard the pile of projects calling me back to work. And then we have to throw in the self-loathing about not being happy wherever I was. So I helped clear off the patio so things wouldn't get tossed around by the wind.

We came home Monday from the airport, had lunch and played cards. The power went out, and that's when my father decided to put fresh batteries in the flashlight. Not on Sunday, not on Monday morning, but when the power goes out. AAAUGH! It got hot pretty fast, so we played cards and read books, and after a few hours the power came back on. The storm was pretty loud Monday night, so Andy came to sleep with me and ignored my snoring. Tuesday morning we lost power for a few hours again, but then it came back on. We played more cards, had breakfast, read more (I'm reading a great book called "Breach of Faith" about Katrina by Jed Horne.) and the power came back. Things pretty much cleared up around 4 when it was time for me to leave the airport, and all reports said flights were getting out. My father took me to the airport and we surveyed the damage - mostly plants and trees, though there were a few tornadoes that touched down south and north of us.

The flight was slightly delayed, and then I was on my way. Spouse picked me up at the airport, and as I was waiting for him to come get me, my brother drove by - I have spoken with him, but haven't seen him since April! He was picking up his wife's sister and kids who were coming to the Cape from Seattle. We had a 23 second visit, then the state police waved him on.

Came home and fell asleep around midnight. And now, I'm back at work digging out of email and voice mail, and getting ready for a few meetings.

And for now, that's all I got.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!