Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8:15 a.m. - 2008-08-13
Too many ingredients

My comments seem to have disappeared. Hmmm. Thank you for your supportive emails after yesterday's whiney entry.

I worked another long day, and when spouse got home yesterday he told me that Andy didn't feel well, and that his neck hurt. I was so worried, because I've been kind of waiting for the other shoe to drop since he's been home from camp. He was covered in bug bites, and there were reports of West Nile, and we are an area where Eastern Eqquine encephalitis is also present. Andy was so restless last night, he only had a slight fever, and a normal mother would have realized that maybe he was just catching the cold I had, or that he was overtired, or that he felt bad about his fish dying. But I had to worry about meningitis or encephalitis. His leg also hurt him.

I know he has inherited some of my hypochondria, but I was still worried.

I checked on five or six times through the night and he is fine, just tired with a sore throat (which is what I had.) He doesn't seem to have a temp, but spouse will keep an eye on him today.

What else to report? I saw the most unusual thing on Friday afternoon. I had to drop off some brochures, and there was a long driveway to the building, sort of set back in a field against the woods. In the grass, just about 5 feet from the drive way was a large white and brown owl. It was beautiful. At first I thought it had a bunch of baby owls around it, but then I realized that they were tufts of fur. As I reached for my camera, it flew off with a small, dead rabbit in its talons. Very interesting though, if not the tiniest bit gross. I was surprised to see the owl in the daylight, and we watched each other for at least a minute before it flew off.

My mother called me yesterday. She is enjoying her get-away with her friend and will be home sometime today.

My nephew wants us to drive two hours to meet them halfway on Saturday. I am feeling guilty, because I am already exhausted, getting up at 3 to catch the early morning plane, and not looking forward to flying for three hours, getting into a car and driving for two hours so that we can have an early dinner or something. Still, I'd like to see them, and he keeps calling with his 13-year-old voice saying "Puleeze Aunt Pattypat, puleeze come and see us. I really want to see Andy. And you." So I'll see how long before the guilt takes hold.

And for now, that's all I got.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!