Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:10 a.m. - 2008-07-31
Covered in cheese or chocolate?

Had a great time at the fondue restaurant. It is a chain, and I remember eating at one about 20 years ago. Spouse and I ordered "The Big Night Out" which includes cheese fondue (we chose Caribbean style with garlic, lime and green onions and peppardu peppers, though it didn't taste like pepper jack cheese thankfully!) and it came with breads, carrots, celery, granny smith apples and cauliflower. It was delicious! Next came salads - spouse had one with pecans and blue cheese; I chose the caesar which was kind of meh. Next course was meats - vanilla chicken, jerk beef, marinated pork, shrimp, filet mignon and something else. That was cooked in a hot broth that we chose to make Mojo style (garlic, lime, a bit of orange juice and cilantro.) Very yummy and very filling. Then we got to choose a chocolate fondu for dessert. We just chose the plain chocolate,(I'm thinking of you Chaos!) though you can get it with caramel, pecans, peanut butter, various liquors, almonds, crushed oreos, marshmallow fluff or crushed graham crackers. The fondu came with pieces of pound cake, brownie, strawberries, banana, marshmallows rolled in crushed oreos or graham crackers and a small piece of cheesecake. There was one bite of each thing for each person. My favorite was the marshmallow with graham cracker. It was really delicious! We also bought a bottle of prosecco (Italian sparkling wine). It took about two hours, then we stopped to pick up some rice at trader joe's for our neighbor and headed home. Spouse finished packing for camp, I threw on a load of wash and the dishwasher, and we fell asleep. Oh yah- a friend called offering us one ticket to the Police/Elvis Costello concert at the venue about two towns away for tonight, but spouse will be gone and I have to work late. Oh well.

My brother called just before we went to bed. He wants me to give him and his wife-to-be a unity candle for a shower gift, which is fine. He said they trust my judgment and they've been unable to find one.

So I'm already pining for my men-folk who will be home on Saturday around noon-time. Tonight I have to work. I may grab a late dinner with a neighborfriend, we'll see.

And for now, that's all I got.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!