Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8:50 a.m. - 2008-07-30
Cookies and milk

Yesterday was as big and as full as a Thursday, even though it was Tuesday. When I was little, my mother and I thought that each day had a different color. We were going to write a book called "Saturday is Yellow" and Dr. Seuss beat us to the idea and wrote "My Many Colored Days." Anyway, yesterday I met two neighborfriends for lunch and had a great time. Came back, met with my boss for two hours and then got word that I should call Andy at 5 if I wanted to talk to him, so I called neighborfriend's husband at the appointed time, but Andy was still doing some activity. We chatted with the husbandfriend and found out that Andy passed his swim test with flying colors; is having a fabulous time; is getting all the badges he's working on; has received our care packages; and was so busy he hasn't been homesick. Neighborhusband asked if we wanted Andy to call us back, and I said that he should tell Andy we called (because we told him we'd call on Tuesday) and see what Andy's reaction was. Andy said "Oh good! - See ya later!" and headed off to some other activity. So we must be doing a good job parenting, because he is doing just fine.

I was somewhat slothful last night, told myself I was going to work on the bedroom closet, but instead just vegged and some of the neighbors came over to chat. That was nice! Spouse and I watched the last part of "America's Got Talent" and then I went to bed after the news at 10.

Tonight spouse and I are having a date at a fondue restaurant about a half-hour from here. Then we'll come home, I'll help spouse pack and he'll head out tomorrow morning to camp for two days.

I've been asked to judge a chocolate chip cookie contest at a local fair next weekend. The contest is run by the local paper, and I know the editors/reporters who asked me to be one of the judges. The reporter did not know that chocolate chip cookies were invented in this state, so I gave her some background. I also told her when she asked that my preferred chocolate chip cookie is warm, soft, chocolatey and not adulterated with other stuff like raisins, oatmeal or too many nuts. Now I need a cold glass of milk.

And for now, except for cookie hungries, that's all I got.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!