Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:56 a.m. - 2008-06-19
Because you just don't know

Our friend whose wife is dying was in touch again last night. He has done something I want to remember - he put pictures up around her hospital bed of her as she looked only a month ago. He brought in two of the quits she had made earlier this year and put them in her hospital room. He told all the nurses and doctors and caregivers allabout her, and that she was fine just a few weeks ago. Because he doesn't want them to just think of her as she is now. She has none of the qualities that make a being human. She is not in a coma, but she is not aware. She has no response because the disease has taken away the parts of her brain that are personality and emotions.

Spouse and I sat close to each other last night.

And our other friend was in touch to tell us that our mutual friend has had a beautiful baby girl yesterday. And another bird is building a nest in the notch in the door to my office building.

Andy had a scout cookout last night and spouse took him first to karate lessons and then to scouts. Today I will take Andy first to the orthodontist, and then to a merit badge thing he is working on.

Tomorrow I go to the dentist and I can tell them about the root canal that still hurts four months later. Hmmm.

Not much to report - I went through the motions last night - paid bills, cleaned the kitchen, went through the rest of the mail piles to get it out in time for the recycling truck.

And for now, that's all I got.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!