Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:17 a.m. - 2008-06-18
Out of nowhere

Such a wierd night. After dinner, we got an email from a friend who wrote to tell us that his wife was dying of Creutzfeldt-Jakob Disease, and that the onset was sudden. Six weeks ago she was fine, now she is in a vegetative state at Mass General. We introduced them. He was one of my music teachers, and she was a single mom who left an abusive relationship. They are both very sweet, mellow people, and we were just about to move to Florida from New England. They married six weeks after we introduced them, and shortly afterward, he adopted her two girls. They've been together nearly 30 years. He wrote to tell us and thank us last night for bringing them together. I am beside myself with sadness and frustration. They are both only in their early 60s.

I was afraid to tell my mother, but the email was also addressed to them, so I called her and she was more upset - she was already crying because she missed my niece. Fortunately, my brother and his family are flying in this morning so that should keep her on an even keel for a while.

And then, spouse got another email telling him that his doctoral advisor had died. He was in his 80s. And then another email, that the wife of an older acquaintance had suffered an aneurism. So that's three for now.

Had my review. My boss said I was doing great and he hoped I would stay a long, long time. He gave me two suggestions (both for new projects) and then we were done. And I gave myself good grades.

Last night I made the Greek-style shrimp. Oh. My. Andy LOVED it, and it was so easy. It was one of those dream dinner things, so it will stay on the list of things I will make again. It was tomatoes, oregano, garlic, olive oil, olives and feta cheese. You heat the first four things up, then stir in the shrimp, then stir in the cheese and olives and serve it over rice or pasta. Really delicious.

Tonight there is a boy scout cookout, and spouse is taking Andy and his friend to work, and then to lunch, so I won't be cooking.

I watched a bit of America's got Talent. Some of the stuff was good, and some of it was manipulative. We let Andy stay up to watch it. He spent about three hours playing outside after dinner with all of the neighbor kids. There is a fourth-grader who has a thing for him. And her brother (who is in his early teens but very immature) played with them, but also played with matches. We had a major discussion, alled his parents and sent him home. Yipes.

Not much else to talk about. Work is still crazy busy and will remain so for at least another month.

And for now, that's all I got.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!