Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:17 a.m. - 2008-06-16
Too soon
Last week was AGES ago wasn't it? I had somewhat of a long weekend in that I didn't have to work on Friday, but I did have to go and find a bridesmaids dress, and I did, and it was on sale and I don't have to have any alterations done to it, and that saves me about $300. YAY! The bride is happy with it, so I am happy with it. It is actually a "mother of the bride" dress and it came with a jacket, and it is in the color the bride wants - kind of a cross between navy blue and federal blue. When spouse picked me up (he went to another store to look for trousers) he suggested taking pics of the dress to email to the bride, and she signed off, so We. Are. Done! Except for shoes and a foundation (i.e., girdle/bustier); and accessories. Then we continued on our quest to find Andy a trunk for camp, stopped at every big-box department store, hardward store and auto store along I-95 and 4-95 and had no luck. So we came home, drank iced tea and had leftovers for a late lunch. Spouse had found a 4 lb and 2 lb lobster, and we knew we were having that for dinner.

Andy was thrilled to have lobster, and it was delicious - I had the store steam them, so I just shelled it all and then sauteed it in a bit of butter. Mmmmmmmmm. There was enough leftover so that we're having lobster salad sandwiches for dinner tonight.

Saturday we did sax lessons, fed our neighbors' cat (we're cat sitting for the weekend) and met the other neighbors for breakfast/lunch. Came home, did laundry and finished up father's day gifts and cards. Andy and I snuck out and had spouse's car washed and we vaccuumed it and cleaned it out. Saturday night spouse and Andy had more leftovers (I was still full from lunch.) Sunday Andy and I went to church early so that we could get spouse a fresh apple bagel and an apple pie afterwards, and then we commenced the father's day activities. We got him cool pajamas with lounge chairs on them, a Pink Martini CD, a Rameau CD, a giant jar of mixed nuts, a can of cashews, a bouquet of sun flowers and a nice bottle of wine to go with dinner (pasta with sausages, tomatoes and herbs - his request.)

Sunday, we didn't do much of anything - just picked up, finished laundry, changed the bed linens.

I am still very shocked and sad about the death of Tim Russert. I am calling my doctor this week, but I just feel so sad for his family - he seemed to do all the right things, was a good person, loved his family, gave back to the community, but died too soon.

And what else? Busy week. Today is my Andy's last day of fifth grade. He is excited, but I found it interested that Friday afternoon when he came home, he decided to make a fort in the living room out of all the couch pillows, and he hung out there for quite a while.

ALSO - he never did (again) get to talk to the girl he likes, likes. I wonder if he'll talk to her today?

And for now, that's all I got.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!