Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:51 a.m. - 2008-06-12
Oh yah

So - the girl - Andy talked to me about her yesterday afternoon when he called me at work. He hasn't actually spoken with her, nor has he asked her to sign his fifth grade yearbook, but he likes her, and he wants to talk to her, but things just keep getting in the way. He showed me her picture in the yearbook when I got home. She has a wonderful smile, long dark hair parted in the middle. She was in his class in third grade, but not this year. I have to go and look at the poem "Puppy love is mainly flowers."

Okay - back after an hour search that I can ill-afford - no lunch for me today. Anyway, "Puppy Love" is apparently not a poem, but a short story, and I must track down a copy of it from the library. AND...it also made me think of a stuffed toy my mother had made for us one Christmas - I had a stuffed penguin, my sister had a stuffed Indian princess, and my brother had a stuffed mouse. (My youngest brother hadn't been born yet.) Anyway, I've been looking for that pattern for the last several years - it came in a magazine - and the bodies of the animals were round and about the size of a tennis ball. So while I was searching for Puppy Love, it reminded me to search for the pattern (Puppy Love was in a women's magazine in the 1960s) and apparently was such a hit that one of my teachers must have used it in a class. Anyway- that was my morning diversion.

Tonight we are going out with the neighbors for dinner (not our usual breakfast dining neighbors, but my best neighborfriend whose daughter is Andy's age.) We're celebrating the end of elementary school for Andy and their daughter. They are going to scout camps for the weekend - Mom and the daughter to girl scout camp; and the father and son to the boy scout "reward" camp, for which Andy is too young.

Where was I? I've NO IDEA.

Oh yah - we're going out to dinner. The neighbors are giving their daughter a cell phone as a graduation gift. I have some Naruto anime books for Andy. He's getting a cell phone, but not until the end of the summer. Know what we got as kids at the end of the year? Ice cream cones.

Oh yah - another thing! The ice cream man came last night - Andy was thrilled. He bought a two freakin'dollar ice cream sandwich, which he ate after dinner (spouse grilled swordfish, and we had broccoli salad.)

Did I write that I saw the mother bird on the next yesterday and today? It is a nervous robin. We've tried to keep traffic through the front door to a minimum, but...

Heard from my mother and my niece. They are having a great time on their cruise. They are all pruned and wrinkly from spending so much time in the pool on the ship. They'll be back Saturday morning. Then my brother and his family will go to visit the following weekend. And we go in July.

And for now, that's all I got. Oh yah.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!