Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

4:26 p.m. - 2008-06-05
But I really posted earlier today

I KNOW I posted something this morning, but it isn't here, and I know there was some switching around of servers and such in the land of the diaries. Well, it was likely a boring entry.

I went to see Andy's fifth grade extravaganza today - it was all about patriotism, and I could feel myself tearing up before I even got there. The school invited veterans to come, and one of my former cub scout's father came - he is two weeks back from Iraq. He is close to my age, and I am so grateful he is home safe with his family. Andy had a brief speaking part in between the singing - Star Spangled Banner; America the Beautiful; Proud to be an American; American Heroes; American Tears...you get the picture. The kids' voices were so sweet and pure, though they are a bit more self conscious this year than they have ever been. Andy's good friend played "taps" on the saxophone. One of the girls who had a crush on Andy a few years back sang a lovely song and I was once again reduced to tears to see that little, sweet face singing so proudly and well. Zhen used to send home pictures of penguins and animals to Andy (she hadn't yet learned to write very well). And I was so proud of her, I hoped he'd marry her in about 20 years.

I looked at all those faces that I've looked at for the last six years - so hopeful, so confident still. Andy has been at this school for most of his life - six years! They've learned so much already. We've lost four fathers since we've been there - accidents, cancer and war. I don't know why I kept track of that.

Still soupy here, and drizzly and then we are getting ready for a big fat heat wave over the weekend. 54 degrees today, possibly 93 on Saturday.

I'm very excited that "Last Comic Standing" will be on tonight. I am loving that show, though it conflicts with "So you Think you can Dance." I'll have to sort that out tonight.

And for now, that's all I got.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!