Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:10 a.m. - 2008-05-22
Even the comics are fraught

I had a nice lunch with neighborfriend and spouse last night, then lost track of time and ended up working past six. Came home, made some yummy salads for dinner, and then took Andy to his scout meeting. I am having a hard time with this. It is a very BOY thing - not that I don't respect the "boyness" of it all, it is just that there is alot of disrespect and poking and hitting, and I'm not ready to let Andy be a part of that or subject to it. He has a very strong sense of right and wrong. He is polite and thinks of other people's feelings without being a weenie about it, but he is still one of the low men on the totem pole right now and it hurts me to see how marginalized the younger scouts are.

Also - this troop is somewhat disorganized, which also isn't such a tragic thing, just very different from the way Andy's cub scout pack was run. I know, this will make him have to be more responsible for getting what he needs, and he did do a good job of figuring out how to sign up for one of the badge offerings...but still...

When we finally got home, Andy called my folks and had a little chatty, and I had to do some more work on the computer. We watched the remains of a rerun Law and Order (I know, I should have been watching Idol, but I've never been sucked into it.)

Today is work, work, work, then I'm working a business expo with a colleague. And then-----I'm off for four days. Let the celebration begin!

Today my sister and my mother are going to look at bridesmaids dresses, so I suspect my mother will see something she'll want me to look at and I'll see what's up in the next two weekends.

Do you read Red and Rover the comic strip? It has been sad this week, and today's just made me burst into tears. I looked over and Andy was crying too. We consoled each other and are hoping for a happy ending in tomorrow's strip. And PLEASE - Anyone but Romney

And for now, that's all I got.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!