Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

10:28 a.m. - 2008-05-19
Sleeping in my own bed
Back home. Back to work. Even the festival of laundry has started, albeit a bit late. Did I post on Friday? I think so, but I can't remember. Friday we finished up the cleaning and cooking for my niece's First Communion. My mother and I did the groceries and I brought home subs for everyone. My nephew has whatever afflicted my niece earlier in the week (high fever, lethargy, some congestion, but gratefully, no stomach or lung issues!). One of my sister's friends/rescues came by to help my sister. At the end of the day, we went back to the hotel. I stayed up too late again, and in the morning, went with my brother and future SIL (who came to the hotel later Friday night) to pick up the cake and help my niece get dressed. The ceremony was very nice, and we had great seats, but I was nervous about seeing my ex BIL - it had been nearly 5 years since I had to actually interact with him. I spoke to my sister about it - she is so wonderful - she displays no animosity because of the kids, so she suggested that I treat him like someone I had met once before, but didn't particularly feel compelled to talk with. After the service, everyone came b ack to her house and we had a big lunch - ham, turkey, my Nana's mac and cheese that we had made; potato salad, salad, guacamole, etc. Everyone kind of hung out until 3 ish, then the in-law side of the family left, leaving our family. We talked and reminisced and it was very nice. We played a few rounds of SCAT - a card game that my nephew loves, and then my sister's ex SIL came and took my niece for some new clothes. Did I already write that my niece is going on a cruise with my parents in early June? Each grand-kid gets a trip, and that is what she picked.

Did I also write that my niece has put on an enormous amount of weight in the last year? She and my nephew have their father's build - very short and stocky. But now I am scared for my niece. She is in the second grade and wearing size 18 1/2 clothes. She is very active, but I am worried. Most of our family has a tendency towards being overweight. I hate to see her this big at such an early age. I know my sister sees it too. I just don't understand that the pediatrician hasn't said anythign about it or made suggestions.

Anyway.

My sister and I had a good visit too. I hadn't seen her (though we talk every few days) in person since last summer when we went to Alaska. We'll see her again in July if we go down to Florida, and then again in October when my brother gets married.

Oh yah - speaking of the wedding, my sister and I sat down with our future SIL and made her write down the (new) possibilities she wanted about the brides maids dresses. My sister is going Thursday to pick out a dress, so I'm hopeful we'll nail this down and be done with it.

So.

Yesterday morning my folks took me to the airport (I'd forgotten it was right next to the Daytona speedway.) And I had relatively non-eventful flights and made it into Boston around 1:30. Spouse and Andy picked me up and we had a late lunch/early supper and I was glad to be home.

It was a nice visit. No major tension. Andy and spouse loved the gifts my folks had brought back from Asia: Andy got a hat from the great wall, some replicas of the terra cotta soldiers, some chop sticks, some anime books and his favorite, a lovely blue kimono (or whatever the man's version is.) Spouse got a beautiful gold silk tie, and a signed print and tee shirt from the cracature artist from the Wall Street Journal. Did I already write that I got a beautiful jade necklace and some pearl earrings? They are gorgeous. Spouse and I also got a porcelean chopstick set with two chopstick rests.

My folks are taking care of my niece and nephew this week at my sister's because she has a business trip. I know they will be tired at the end of the week!

And for now, that's all I got.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!