Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:06 a.m. - 2008-04-21
Marathon Monday is just 8 miles from here

Relatively mellow weekend, except a student that a community organization had asked to speak at its annual dinner in two weeks has backed out and now the group is upset with me. The student is a young man from Africa who is going through some tough times. I have been looking for resources for him, hoping that other refugees who have come to America have helped to establish support systems for those that follow them, but so far, I have been unable to find the things he needs, and I have to remind myself that in many ways he is really still a 10 year old boy who has had very little adult supervision and guidance in the past 13 years - 8 of which were spent in refugee camps.

So now the woman who asked that this young man speak to her group is going to call in a few minutes and yell at me, which is fine, she can get your angst out, and then we'll try and come up with a solution for her.

Saturday's birthday lunch went well (if expensively!) The boys wanted to try lots of things, and I'm glad they had a fun time and tried things that they wouldn't have been exposed to ordinarily. Andy had a good time too. And that's what counts.

The rest of Saturday was filled with the rest of the Saturday chores, then Andy and I went to church sowe could sleep in on Sunday, and I think we watched some junky movie, but I can't remember.

Sunday - groceries, clean-up and a visit with the in-laws. We went to dinner, helped them with a few chores and came home.

And then we watched the conlcusion of the John Adams series which I really enjoyed. Except it reminded me that there is too much death in old age. Yah, yah, yah, it is the natural cycle of things, the circle of life, blah.

Today, Andy and I are hanging out, and I have to clean off the dining room table because the neighbors are coming over for dinner. I don't have work today, but I have to finish a few projects. Andy has vacation all week, which means we had a scramble to find day care. He'll go to day camp tomorrow and Thursday, and spouse will have him on Wednesday and I'll take him to work on Friday.

Are you bored yet? Oh - and I booked my tix to go to my niece's first communion. By myself.

And for now, that's all I got.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!