Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:33 a.m. - 2008-01-22
Speculation
There was a house on the drive to and from work - it was a road I'm usually on at least three or four times a week anyway, even before my commute changed. It sat on about two or three acres, not too far away from the road, and it was painted white with some mis-matched additions. It looked to me like it had originally been built at the end of the 19th century, but nonetheless it was pretty non-descript. It was in stark contrast to the houses that surrounded it - one development to its back consisted of houses that were built in the 70s; the development in front of it and across the street was of houses built in the last 15 years and quite large with few trees.

I liked to imagine that the acreage around it had once been its farmland, but I've never done the research to find out.

The house looked lived in for many years, and I watched a succession of toys out in front - but they seemed like grandparents toys rather than family toys, though again, I never knew who lived there. For several springs and summers there were numerous large plastic playhouses and vanities and easels, though only once did I see children playing there. In the fall, the toys would disappear for the most part, except for one which would be covered with snow until the spring thaw. For the past two or three years, there was a white wicker bassinette in the front yard, but that disappeared last fall. I also remember that there were lots of lawn chairs that would appear in a circle in the front. Then for the last several months there did not seem to be any outside activity, and the basinette disappeared, replaced by a blue dumpster which sat by itself at the top of the driveway.

Last week as I was driving to work, I realized the house was gone. It had been there the day before, but had now been replaced by a large hole, a fake plastic fence at the front of the property, and two bulldozers.

This morning, I saw that a foundation has been poured. The house will now occupy much more space, and is closer to the road. I expect it will be a mcmansion of some sort since it faces the larger homes of the last decade rather than the more modest homes of the last century.

I wonder who lived there? Was it the same family over many years? Did the grandparents I imagined lived there grow things where the large houses are now? Did they can and have a basement stash of vegetables? Did they have horses and cows? How did I not know them after living here for nearly 14 years and driving by their house almost daily?

I wonder.

What other news do I have? Andy came into work with me yesterday. He was such a trooper - we cleaned my office - I had never had a chance to file things, so since the beginning of September, my desk just got piled higher with stuff, then my meeting table, then the top of my cabinet...So Andy helped me and people are coming from across campus to observe. Everything is filed, organized and catalogued. He was such a great help! We even lost track of the time.

I took him to the cafeteria for lunch and he enjoyed that. Came home, had the chicken tortilla soup I made for dinner - very yummy - and then went to cub scouts. Last night's activities included games night, awards and sliming the district leader (for being the pack that sold the most popcorn.) We also got to pie the pack leadership.

I'm glad to say that at least half of our cubs are going on to scouting - I feel like I would have let them down if they didn't feel motivated to at least try one year.

Today: Fifteen projects that must be finished; three meetings then home to a spouse-made dinner. I'm predicting salmon with a side of sweet potato.

Tonight: I have three magazines I would like to skim. Don't think there's much on the teevee.

Spouse and Andy are home today - that will make for an extra long weekend - half-day Friday, yesterday was MLK day and today was a professional development day. I think one of Andy's friends is coming over for a few hours. This weekend he made movies with another friend and posted them on youtoob.

My mother and sister are back from their cruise. My mother called yesterday and was very excited that one of my sister's staff members wanted to be "just like her when she grew up." I hope my mother let the event be my sister's and did not take it over. She has a tendency to do that, then doesn't understand when we are hurt and resentful. I could be wrong and could be projecting all over this, but I don't think so. My mother commented that my sister became quiet and was once a bit "bristly" to her. This was a work event for my sister.

Yes, I know, I am mean.

So. What next. Back to work.

And for now, that's all I got.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!