Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

9:20 a.m. - 2008-01-21
Massaging the information
Had a really nice weekend - Friday night we just vegged and had home-made pizza. I worked on laundry and a bit of cleaning since the babysitter would be staying at our house; and made a couple of meals she and Andy could heat up over the weekend. Saturday morning I finished packing (how much do you take on an overnight?) and finished up the laundry and making the beds and we were on the road about 10:30. It only took about an hour and a half to get to Newport, and it was a nice drive (I viewed much of it through my eyelids - spouse drove.)

We went to find the restaurant spouse had picked for lunch, but it was no longer there. Neither of us thought to call ahead, since we'd found its website and it posted current hours.

We went to the hotel, checked in, and had a mediocre lunch there. Then I went for my facial, which was fabulous! Apparently I don't use enough moisturizing things. Apparently NO ONE uses enough moisturizing things. I was struck by how lovely and soft the aesthetician's hands were.

After that, I went back to the room, and we decided to do some walking - went down to the shops about a half mile away, walked around, got a beer and some nachos at one of the pubs, and then I figured I may as well go to church since we had found a church, and it worked out. I went to mass at the church where JFK and Jackie were married - St. Mary's in Newport. It was smallish and sweet, with very uncomfortable pews. Spouse picked me up, and we changed for dinner and had a fabulous meal. Spouse had foie gras (yes, I know, YELL at us but it was delicious); lamb chops and we shared a caesar salad. I had the clam chowder - very delicious and creamy and cod with pistatios. For dessert, spouse had an apply thing and I had something called the nutty monkey which was crepes with a chocolate filling, sauteed bananas and walnut ice cream - very tasty; and the desserts were on the house since it was my birthday (exactly two months ago, but since we booked it as a birthday present, we got free dessert. YAY!)

Went back to the room, watched junky teevee, and I fell asleep, except the bed was kind of soft and squooshy and I kept waking up thinking I was drowning. Sunday morning we were up early because our massage appointments were at 8. We had them together and it was really great. My neck and shoulders feel so much better! I may need another one on Wednesday!

Hung out, had brunch, read the newspapers and then spouse had found a place online that had good bakery and take out foood, so we had planned to bring some stuff home, but it too was no longer in business. Wah!

So we headed home, stopped on Federal Hill (the Italian section in Providence) and got some goodies for dinner -eggplant parm, chicken cutlets and some good cheeses. Then we picked up Andy and hung out a bit, finishing the local papers. I made pasta with some marginal tomatoes we had in the fridge, wine, shallots, garlic, basil and parsley, and added a bit of tinned sauce; and we had a yummy dinner. I also baked a pound cake for dessert, and chopped some veggies and chicken for a chicken tortilla soup we'll have tonight. I threw everything in the slow cooker before I left this morning.

Then we watched some football and went to sleep.

Andy is in work with me today - he'll help me clean my desk - I'll take a before and after picture! Spouse has to work too - I think the whole world has today off except for us. Tonight is cub scouts - Pack Meeting.

No big appointments today, just alot of writing and organizing. The students come back this afternoon after break.

And for now, that's all I got.

previous - next

|

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!